Ballindine, Co. Mayo

July 9, 2009

Under-21 Title for Davitts (1984)


Davitts, who captured the county minor league title earlier in the season, added the county under-21 title to the honours list by easily accounting for Aughamore in a disappointing final at Ballyhaunis, in a game which was spoiled by the wind and rain.

The Ballindine/Irishtown club, who had previously captured the honours in 1977, were assisted by the elements in the first half, but after 20 minutes their chances of taking the title looked dim as all they had on the scoreboard was one point by Joe Reapy.    Aughamore, who never really go moving in the terrible conditions, had their opening score by Padraic Duffy. However, in the final ten minutes of the half the winners began to put their game together much better and following points by Liam Nyland and Joe Reapy, a fine goal by Jim Treacy left them 1-3 to 0-1 ahead on the restart. Credit for the loser’s low scoring rate in that period must be given to the winners’ defence where Owen Martin, Martin Cosgrove and Tony Connolly performed with great solidness.

With Martin Trench- who has now added an under-21 medal to his senior hurling award won with Tooreen- and Bert Penny dominating midfield on the restart, the game was finally pushed out of the East Mayo club’s reach when Jim Treacy had his second goal for Davitts. It was late in the game when Brian Duffy had a consolation goal for Aughamore.

Best for the winners were Owen Martin, Tony Connolly, Martin Cosgrove, Martin Trench, Bert Penny, Jim Treacy, Joe Reapy and Liam Nyland. Hard triers for the losers were T.J. Rogers (goal), Tommy Lyons, E. Waldron, John Hession, Padraic Duffy and Austin Kenny.

Scorers: Davitts- J. Treacy (2-1), J. Reapy (0-3), Owen Martin and Liam Nyland (0-1 each). Aughamore- B. Duffy (1-1), P. Duffy and A. Kenny (0-1 each).

Davitts: M. Kearns, T. Connolly, T. Ronayne, M. Cosgrove, A. McLoughlin, O. Martin, M. Trench, B. Penny, J. Treacy, L. Nyland, M. Mitchell, John Treacy, J. Reapy. Subs: K. Griffin for McLoughlin; T. O’Connor for J. Treacy).

Aughamore: T.J. Rogers, P. Nyland, T. Lyons, E. Waldron, M. Hunt, J. Hession, N. Greally, P. Duffy, A. Kenny, E. Gurren, B. Duffy. Sub: R. Jordan for Henry.

Ref: J. Harkin, Crossmolina.

Please follow and like us:
Scroll to top