Ballindine, Co. Mayo

December 20, 2015

U-21s v Swinford – County Final – Match Report

Davitts and Swinford met in the County U-21 B final on Saturday in McHale Park with Swinford coming out on top by 1-15 to 0-12 after an entertaining game of football. There was little to separate the sides until Swinford goaled midway through the second half to give them a seven point cushion and they saw the game out well in the final quarter.

Davitts opened brightly and scored the first two points of the game via Cathal Hennelly and Liam Noone. Swinford responded well and the game was very much tit for tat for the remainder of the first half. Further points followed from Cathal Hennelly (2), Paul O Gara, Patrick Keadin and Thomas Waldron as the two sides went in level at half time, 0-7 apiece.

Swinford got the first two points of the second half but Thomas Waldron narrowed the gap with a neat point. Swinford stepped up a gear and added on three points before scoring a crucial goal twelve minutes from time to put them firmly in control. Davitts had points from Cathal Hennelly (3) and Liam Noone before the finish but couldn’t breach the Swinford defence for the goal they needed to get back into the game. The Davitts lads fought gamely to the end but would have to concede that Swinford were the deserving winners.

Micheal Mangan was solid in goals and could do nothing to stop the Swinford goal. Brian Clarke, Cathal Higgins, Padraig Mangan and the lionhearted Patrick Keadin defended well with Cathal Hennelly popping up all over the pitch and he attacked at every opportunity. Sean Waldron and William Freeley battled to the end at midfield. Thomas Waldron, Gerald Griffin and Andrew Peters showed their class up front while Liam Noone, Shane Treacy, Evan Ronayne, Paul O Gara and Conor Keane worked their socks off all through the game.

Davitts: Micheal Mangan, Brian Clarke, Padraig Mangan, Patrick Keadin (0-1), Cathal Higgins, Cathal Hennelly (0-6), Sean Waldron, William Freeley, Shane Treacy, Liam Noone (0-2), Paul O Gara (0-1), Andrew Peters, Evan Ronayne. Subs used: Thomas Waldron (0-2), Gerald Griffin, Conor Keane.

Scroll to top