Ballindine, Co. Mayo

September 6, 2015

U-21’s v Kilcommin – Match Report

Davitts U-21 team made the long journey to Kilcommin a fruitful one on Wednesday evening, defeating the homeside by 4-16 to 3-9 in the County B Championship. This win sees Davitts safely through to the Quarter Finals.

While the final scoreline may suggest that this was a comfortable victory, it was only in the last fifteen minutes of the game that Davitts managed to put some distance between the teams on the scoreboard.

Amazingly, we had to wait until the ninth minute for the opening score of the game, a Kilcommin point. Davitts responded well with an equaliser from the hard working Paul O Gara before Gerald Griffin netted the first of a hat-trick of goals. Kilcommin showed real bottle and rifled home two goals and a point in the space of three minutes to lead by four points after sixteen minutes. The slick Davitts attack led by the superb Andrew Peters hit some terrific scores in the second quarter of the game. Points from Paul O Gara, Andrew Peters, Gerald Griffin, Evan Ronayne (2), Conor Keane (2) and a second Gerald Griffin goal put the visitors ahead by 2-8 to 2-3 at the break.

Kilcommin began the second half well, an early goal and point narrowing the gap to a single point. The game was really in the melting pot now as both teams traded points but two goals from Andrew Peters and Gerald Griffin finally ended the Kilcommin challenge. Davitts second half point scorers were the deadly accurate Conor Keane (4), Evan Ronayne (2), Andrew Peters and Padraig Mangan.

Davitts defence had their hands full coping with Kilcommin’s forwards throughout the game. Micheal Mangan did well in goals, while Patrick Keadin, Cathal Higgins and Sean Waldron played solidly. Paul O Gara, Andrew Peters and Evan Ronayne, who shot four quality points, formed a fantastic half forward line while Conor Keane and Gerald Griffin were lethal inside them.

Davitts: Micheal Mangan, Padraig Mangan (0-1), Brian Clarke, Patrick Keadin, Cathal Higgins, Cathal Hennelly, Sean Waldron, William Freeley, Paul O Gara (0-2), Andrew Peters (1-2), Evan Ronayne (0-4), Conor Keane (0-6), Gerald Griffin (3-1). Subs used: Shane Treacy, Jamie Mullee, Gerard McWalter.

Scroll to top