Ballindine, Co. Mayo

November 29, 2017

U-21s v Burrishoole – Match Report

A superbly committed Davitts U-21 Team qualified for the County B Semi-Final after a fine 1-12 to 0-6 victory over Burrishoole in Bekan on Saturday. The game was much closer than the scoreline suggests but the Davitts defence, superbly marshalled by team captain Micheal Mangan, were in outstanding form from start to finish.

The game took its toll however as Davitts very effective midfielder Padraig Mangan suffered what looks like a serious knee injury and he now joins his Senior team colleagues Kieran Fahy and Jack Ronayne on the sidelines for the remainder of this competition.

Davitts led by 0-6 to 0-2 at the break after points from Conor Keane (2), Evan Ronane (2), Shane Treacy and Padraig Mangan.

Burrishoole started the second half well with two early points but Davitts response was impressive. The hard working Ryan McLoughlin pointed before Michael McGarry goaled emphatically after a classy assist by Shane Treacy. Evan Ronane, now becoming a more influencial figure, slotted over two fabulous points as his team went ahead by eight points with ten minutes remaining.

Burrishoole replied with two points but man of the match Shane Treacy, Conor Keane and Evan Ronane all pointed before the end to put Davitts into the Semi-Final, against an impressive Ardnaree side next Sunday.

Mikey Kelly was very solid in goals and in front of him Patrick Keadin and Michael Waldron displayed tremendous commitment and appetite for work.. Dimitry Trench, Micheal Mangan and Tom Corless completed an outstanding defensive quintet. Cathal Hennelly and Padraig Mangan, until his retiral late in the first half, were in top form at midfield.

Shane Treacy, Ryan McLoughlin and Michael McGarry were excellent in the half forward line while Conor Keane and Evan Ronane were a handful throughout.

Davitts three subs introduced, Niall Kearns, Daniel Huane and Aidan Macken, all made telling contributions towards this win.

Davitts: Mikey Kelly, Patrick Keadin, Michael Waldron, Dimitry Trench, Micheal Mangan (capt), Tom Corless, Padraig Mangan (0-1), Cathal Hennelly, Shane Treacy (0-2), Ryan McLoughlin (0-1), Michael McGarry (1-0), Conor Keane (0-3), Evan Ronane (0-5). Subs used: Niall Kearns, Daniel Huane, Aidan Macken.

Please follow and like us:
Scroll to top