Ballindine, Co. Mayo

December 14, 2017

U-21s v Ballaghaderreen–County B Final – Match Report

Ballaghaderreen 4-11 Davitts 0-13

Ballaghaderreen captured the County U-21 B title with a very hard fought victory over a gallant Davitts side in McHale Park on Saturday night. The scoreline suggests that they had an easy victory but with five minutes of normal time remaining they were leading by just two points as Davitts stormed back into the game having trailed by 2-4 to 0-3 at the break.

Ballagh got off to a flyer, shooting 1-2 in the opening five minutes. Ryan McLoughlin and Evan Ronane pulled two points back for Davitts and Michael McGarry was denied a goal by the woodwork. Ballagh added a further 1-2 and Conor Keane pointed for Davitts before Evan Ronane was denied a goal by a last gasp tackle by a Ballagh defender just before halftime.

Three Conor Keane points as Davitts began to take control of the game. Evan Ronane fired over another and Ballagh got a point of their own before points from Conor Keane and Evan Ronane had Davitts just three points down and with all the momentum. Two Ballaghaderreen points were cancelled out out by the lethal Keane and Ronane and Davitts were desperately unlucky not to equalise when Michael McGarry hit the side netting with an attempt for goal after a searing run. Another Evan Ronane point reduced the deficit to two points in the 54th minute but Ballaghaderreen managed to regroup. They pointed in the 56th minute and a goal three minutes later put paid to Davitts brave challenge. Ballagh added another 1-1 in injury time with a Conor Keane point being Davitts sole reply.

The final scoreline does not do justice to Davitts but congratulations to Ballaghaderreen who weathered the second half storm and were able to get the vital scores at the finish.

Davitts, while desperately disappointed at losing, did well to reach the final with injuries and sickness depriving them of the services of Jack Ronayne, Kieran Fahy, Cian Naughton, John Kilkenny and Jamie Mullee for the entire campaign. They lost midfielder Padraig Mangan with a knee injury in the Quarter final but their young replacements stood up to the plate and played with great courage and no little skill. Mikey Kelly was a dependable goalkeeper throughout the campaign while in front of him Patrick Keadin and Michael Waldron were superb. Dimitri Trench, a name we will be hearing a lot of in the coming years, Tom Corless, Daniel Huane and inspirational captain Micheal Mangan played brilliantly in every game. Cathal Hennelly, the afore mentioned Padraig Mangan and young Niall Kearns all operated in the midfield sector and more than held their own.

Davitts attacking quintet of Shane Treacy, Ryan McLoughlin, Michael McGarry, Conor Keane and Evan Ronane played delightful football throughout the competition. When called upon, Aidan and Liam Macken, Jordan Flanagan, Dean Moran, James Ruane and David Devane were not found wanting.

Davitts: Mikey Kelly, Patrick Keadin, Michael Waldron, Dimitry Trench, Micheal Mangan, Tom Corless, Cathal Hennelly, Niall Kearns, Shane Treacy, Ryan McLoughlin (0-1), Michael McGarry, Conor Keane (0-7), Evan Ronane (0-5). Subs used: Daniel Huane, Padraig Mangan.

Please follow and like us:
Scroll to top