Ballindine, Co. Mayo

September 16, 2012

U-21’s are County Champions!

U-21's are County Champions!

Davitts: 2-11

Ardmoy: 2-4

Davitts captured the Mayo County U-21 C title in impressive style in McHale Park on Saturday evening. Getting off to the dream start and leading by 1-2 to 0-0 after ten minutes, the Davitts lads, playing into the wind started In whirlwind fashion. A classy goal from the impressive Clive Hennigan after a Michael Waldron delivery in the first minute, and two Josh Ronayne points put Davitts on their way. Ardmoy midfielder Brendan Carr, arguably the best player on the pitch, was doing his utmost to stem the tide but some very wasteful shooting meant that Davitts led by 1-5 to 0-2 at halftime.

Ardmoy stormed into the game after the restart but the excellent Davitts defence held firm, with Donal Ronayne and Cathal Higgins in outstanding form. Ardmoy narrowed the gap to two points after goals from defenders John Cafferty (penalty) and Shane Doherty, with ten minutes remaining. Davitts pushed on however and their excellent substitute Andrew Peters sealed the win with a fantastic individual goal eight minutes from time.

Outstanding for Davitts were Donal and Mark Ronayne, Brian Clarke, Cathal Higgins, Thomas Waldron, Clive Hennigan, Darren Connolly, Andrew Peters, Liam Noone and Josh Ronayne.

Ardmoy’s best players on the day were John Cafferty, Shane Doherty, Brendan and Joe Carr, James Mulligan and Kevin Moran.

Congratulations also to the Davitts U-21 management team of Lawrence Daly Snr., Joe Reapy, Liam Nyland and Tommy Ronayne.

Davitts: David Mitchell (capt), Donal Ronayne, Brian Clarke, Cathal Higgins, Mark Ronayne, Jason Connolly, Michael Waldron, Sean Waldron, Thomas Waldron (0-1), Clive Hennigan (1-1), Tommy Clarke, Darren Connolly (0-1), Josh Ronayne (0-6). Subs used: Liam Noone, Andrew Peters (1-1), William Freeley.

Ardmoy: Conor Carney, John Cafferty (1-1), Aiden Williams, Enda O Hora, Dean Gillespie, Shane Doherty (1-0), Brendan Carr (0-1), James Mulligan, Kevin Moran (0-2), Joe Carr, Kevin Doherty, Sean Mulligan, Enda McHale. Sub used: Keith Cosgrove.

A selection of photos from the game are available in the Gallery…

Scroll to top