Ballindine, Co. Mayo

October 23, 2023

U-21 v Claremorris match report

Davitts 0-12  Claremorris 0-12

The big crowd that attended this county U-21 A championship match in Ballindine on Sunday were treated to a full blooded encounter between two very evenly matched sides, with the result in doubt right up to the last second. The game ended on a controversial note with the referee blowing the full time whistle as Davitts forward Dylan Gallagher was winding up a shot for a potential match winning point, much to the annoyance of the home team and supporters. When the dust settled, a draw was possibly a fair result with Davitts well on top in the first and final quarters of the game and Claremorris dominating the thirty minutes in between.

Fenton Kelly opened the scoring with a long range point in the first minute and Niall Treacy added two more before Claremorris got off the mark with a 7th minute point. Niall Treacy was proving to be a difficult man to contain and he pointed again in the 10th minute. A Claremorris point in the 14th minute was cancelled out by a tidy score from the excellent Conor McDermott to put Davitts three ahead but four unanswered points from Claremorris saw them lead by 0-6 to 0-5 at half-time.

Niall Treacy equalised in the 4th minute of the second half but four more Claremorris scores put them four points ahead and looking the likely winners as the game entered the final quarter. Davitts though showed great resolve and Niall Treacy narrowed the gap with a 45th minute point. The home-side were getting on top around the middle of the field and points from Niall Treacy, Dylan Gallagher and Fenton Kelly tied the game with nine minutes of normal time remaining. Claremorris took the lead again in the 54th minute and they added another in the 57th but a massive Fenton Kelly free kick a minute later ensured a grandstand finish. Davitts had all the momentum now and Dylan Gallagher, after patient build up play, shot a superb equaliser in the 61st minute. Niall Treacy had a chance to win it but he shot wide. Davitts won the resultant kick-out and brilliant defending from the Claremorris lads denied the home team a clear scoring attempt until Dylan Gallagher’s chance with almost three minutes injury time played, but the final whistle went before he could shoot, to the relief of the Claremorris supporters.

Brian Og McTigue, Sean Keadin, Thomas Ronayne, Sean Feerick, Fenton Kelly, Conor McDermott and Niall Treacy starred for Davitts with Charlie Phillips and Ciaran Treacy making telling contributions when introduced in the second half.

Davitts: Dylan O Brien, Brian Birmingham, Brian Og McTigue, Sean Keadin, Fionnan Gallagher, Thomas Ronayne, Sean Feerick, Fenton Kelly (0-3), Mark Birmingham, Conor McDermott (0-1), Jack Trench, Joe Prendergast, Dylan Gallagher (0-2), Jack Melvin, Niall Treacy (0-6). Subs used: Burke Briere, Zack Keadin, Charlie Phillips, Ciaran Treacy.

Scroll to top