Ballindine, Co. Mayo

August 18, 2021

U-19 v Balla match report

Davitts and Balla met in the U-19 B Championship in Ballindine on Wednesday evening with the home side prevailing by four points after a game that had flashes of great quality from both sides. Davitts always had the edge and led by 0-7 to 0-3 after the first quarter with senior players Niall Treacy (5) and Fenton Kelly (2) dominating the scoring.  Another two points from Niall Treacy, and one apiece from Fenton Kelly and Sean Keadin saw Davitts extend their lead to 0-11 to 0-5 at halftime.

Fenton Kelly scored a superb goal in the first minute of the second half and Davitts added five further points before the second water break, with Balla only managing one point in that third quarter. Those five Davitts points came from Niall Treacy (2), Fenton Kelly, Dylan Gallagher and Jack Devane.

The game really burst into life in the final quarter with Balla finding their scoring touch in some style. They goaled in the 46th minute with this goal cancelled out by a Finn McLoughlin goal for the homeside less than a minute later. Balla goaled again in the 49th minute and Fenton Kelly replied with a point for Davitts.  Balla pointed in the 51st minute but two points from Cathal Corless and Jack Melvin for Davitts saw them extend their lead to twelve points but Balla fought back again. They fired home three more goals in the last four minutes with a Jack Devane point being Davitts sole reply, to leave the home team the four point winners of a fascinating game between two very good teams.

All of the Davitts players had their moments in this game with Charlie Phillips, Tomas Ronayne, Jack Trench, Fenton Kelly, Cathal Corless, Sean Keadin and Niall Treacy very impressive.

Davitts: Tristan Diskin, Micheal Hett, Charlie Phillips, Brian Og McTigue, Jack Trench, Tomas Ronayne, Brian Birmingham, Fenton Kelly (1-5), Cathal Corless (0-1), Sean Keadin (0-1), Jack Melvin (0-1), Joe Prendergast, Niall Treacy (0-9), Jack Devane (0-2), Zack Keadin. Subs used: Dylan Gallagher (0-1), Bon Glynn, Finn McLoughlin (1-0).

Please follow and like us:
Scroll to top