Ballindine, Co. Mayo

September 23, 2023

U-17 v South final v Carras match report

Carras 0-12  Davitts 1-7

Davitts and Carras played the South Mayo U-17 B final on Friday night in the Dome in Bekan, with Carras coming out on top by two points after a well fought match. The Carras attack were a little more efficient over the hour but this result was in doubt right up to the final whistle.

Davitts got off to the perfect start and a slick passing move involving Conor McDermott, Dylan Gormley, Aaron CB and Ciaran Treacy ended with the latter being hauled down in the penalty area in the first minute. Treacy himself coolly slotted home the spot kick sending the keeper the wrong way. Carras pointed in the 3rd minute but three unanswered Davitts points by Ciaran Treacy and Ronan Kelly (2) between the eighth and eleventh minutes gave them a five point cushion. Carras then hit a purple patch and they pointed in the 13th, 14th, 16th, 17th, 25th and 30th minutes to go in ahead at the interval, 0-7 to 1-3. Davitts had plenty of chances too in that period but poor shooting would prove costly.

A Carras point in the first minute of the second half was nullified by a fine Aaron CB point a minute later. Carras extended their lead to two with a 39th minute point but two Ronan Kelly points in the 42nd and 44th minutes left the sides level as the game entered the final quarter. Both sides had some poor misses before Carras regained the lead with a 52nd minute point. They were awarded a penalty a minute later but although the spot kick was well struck, Davitts keeper Dylan O Brien pulled off a superb save, diving to his right, to prevent a three pointer. Carras did punch over a point from the rebound to go two clear with six minutes remaining. Aaron O Dea pointed for Davitts in the 57th minute and they spurned a few gilt edged chances to equalise before Carras broke upfield and point in the 62nd minute. Davitts still had time to launch a final attack but couldn’t find the goal they needed to save the game.

Dylan O Brien, Ben Corless, Conor McDermott, Ciaran Treacy, Ronan Kelly and Aaron CB were best for Davitts on this occasion.

Davitts: Dylan O Brien, Ben Corless, Sean Clarke, Brian Hett, Noah O Brien, Conor McDermott, Tadhg Feerick, Burke Briere, Dylan Burke, Fionn McTigue, Dylan Gormley, Ciaran Treacy (1-1), Aaron O Dea (0-1), Ronan Kelly (0-4), Aaron Conneely Basham (0-1). Subs used: Brian Corless, Cillian Kearns.

Please follow and like us:
Scroll to top