Ballindine, Co. Mayo

October 30, 2023

U-17 v Knockmore match report

Davitts 2-9  Knockmore 0-10

Davitts and Knockmore met in the U-17 C Grading League final in Ballindine on Sunday morning. Two opportunistic goals, one in each half, by Aaron O Dea, proved to be the difference between two well matched teams.

Knockmore shot three points in the first ten minutes of the game before Davitts midfielder Dylan Burke settled his side’s nerves with a classy point in the 11th minute. Ronan Kelly pointed for Davitts in the 13th minute but Knockmore scored again in the 16th minute to go two ahead. In the 18th minute Davitts excellent goal-keeper Dylan O Brien pointed a 45 and then pulled off a top class save less than a minute later. A Knockmore point in the 22nd minute restored their two point advantage but Davitts finished the half strongly. Two Ronan Kelly points in the 24th and 26th minutes levelled it and in the 28th minute Aaron O Dea netted his first goal, first timing to the net after Dylan Burke had blocked down an attempted clearance. This left the home side ahead by 1-5 to 0-5 at half-time.

Two brilliant points from Tadhg Feerick and Aaron CB in the first three minutes of the second half extended Davitts lead to five. Knockmore got a point in the 36th minute but were left reeling when Aaron O Dea flicked a long range Ronan Kelly free kick to the net. Knockmore, as always, were not going to go down without a fight, and they shot four unanswered points between the 40th and 48th minutes to reduce the deficit to three points. Davitts defended very well though and kept the visitors scoreless after that while adding two more points to their tally scored by Aaron O Dea and team captain Ciaran Treacy.

Dylan O Brien was extremely confident in goals. Tadhg Feerick gave a man of the match performance with Conor McDermott controlling the game from centre half-back. Ben Corless had a super match in the corner while Sean Clarke, Noah O Brien and Brian Hett also defended very well. At midfield, Burke Briere and Dylan Burke both worked tirelessly from start to finish. Two goal hero, Aaron O Dea, Ronan Kelly and Aaron CB formed an effective half forward-line. Full forward Ciaran Treacy put in a hard-working shift and got good support from Fionn McTigue and Dylan Gormley. Subs Cillian Kearns and Odhran O Connaire played their parts when introduced in the second half.

Well done to the management team of Lawrence Daly, Frank Kelly, Padraig Moran and Liam Nyland.

Dylan O Brien (0-1), Ben Corless, Sean Clarke, Brian Hett, Noah O Brien, Conor McDermott, Tadhg Feerick (0-1), Burke Briere, Dylan Burke (0-1), Aaron O Dea (2-1), Ronan Kelly (0-3), Aaron Conneely Basham (0-1), Fionn McTigue, Ciaran Treacy (0-1), Dylan Gormley. Subs used: Cillian Kearns, Odhran O Connaire.

Scroll to top