Ballindine, Co. Mayo

September 14, 2023

U-17 v Ballinrobe match report

Ballinrobe 1-10  Davitts 3-12

Davitts U-17 team extended their unbeaten run in the South Mayo B Championship in Ballinrobe on Tuesday evening. The game was played in ideal conditions and Davitts got off to a flying start with points in the first and fifth minutes from Conor McDermott and Aaron O Dea sandwiching a fine third minute goal scored by Ciaran Treacy, a constant thorn in the Ballinrobe defence all evening. The home side rallied and pulled back two points in the 8th and 10thminutes. Ciaran Treacy pointed for Davitts in the 12th minute but Ballinrobe fired home a fine goal a minute later to leave the minimum between the sides after the first quarter. The second quarter belonged to Davitts and Ronan Kelly goaled in the 16th minute with Brian Corless adding a point in the 17th. On twenty minutes a Dylan O Brien 45 found its way to the Ballinrobe net and Dylan Burke, Aaron CB, Aaron O Dea, Ciaran Treacy and Noah O Brien all pointed before the break to give Davitts a healthy 3-9 to 1-2 lead.

Ballinrobe needed a good start to the second period and they looked a completely different side after the break, scoring a 33rd minute point as they began to get on top. Ciaran Treacy shot a Davitts point, against the run of play, in the 36th minute but the home team fired over five unanswered points in the next ten minutes. The Davitts defence was under severe pressure now but they were able to prevent Ballinrobe from getting too many clearcut goal chances and Dylan O Brien was looking comfortable in goals. Three more minors from the Robesiders narrowed the deficit to two goals with time running out. The clock was against the gallant home side though and Ciaran Treacy and Ronan Kelly shot the last two scores of the game very late on to give Davitts a flattering eight point winning margin.

Davitts best performers in this game were Dylan O Brien, Brian Hett, Tadhg Feerick, Conor McDermott, Noah O Brien, Aaron O Dea and Ciaran Treacy.

Davitts: Dylan O Brien (1-0), Odhran O Connaire, Brian Hett, Sean Clarke, Tadhg Feerick, Conor McDermott (0-1), Noah O Brien (0-1), Burke Briere, Dylan Burke (0-1), Brian Corless (0-1), Dylan Gormley, Ciaran Treacy (1-4), Aaron O Dea (0-2), Ronan Kelly (1-1), Aaron Conneely Basham (0-1). Subs used: Ben Corless, Fionn McTigue, Cillian Kearns.

Please follow and like us:
Scroll to top