Ballindine, Co. Mayo

September 23, 2022

U-17 C’ship Semi-final v Ballinrobe match report

Davitts 2-12  Ballinrobe 3-12

Ballinrobe and Davitts met in the County U-17 C Championship semi-final in Ballindine on Friday evening with the visitors winning by a goal after a terrific match. The unavailability of the injured Conor McDermott and Ciaran Treacy proved too much for Davitts to overcome but Ballinrobe had to pull out all the stops to earn their place in the final.

The game got off to a blistering start with two Ballinrobe points in the first minute, a second minute goal well finished for Davitts by Ronan Kelly, another Ballinrobe point in the 4th minute and the excellent Dylan Gallagher opening his account with a Davitts point in the fifth minute, the first of nine points he shot throughout the match. The next score was a Fionn McLoughlin point in the 13th minute but two Ballinrobe points and an 18th minute goal put the visitors three points up. Davitts rallied well and Dylan Gallagher (2) and Sean Keadin hit over three fine points before clever build up play between Dylan Gallagher and Fionn McLoughlin resulted in the latter being hauled down for a penalty in the 26th minute. Fionn McLoughlin coolly converted the spot kick. Ballinrobe fired over the last score of the half, a 28th minute point, to leave Davitts ahead by 2-6 to 1-7 at the break.

Dylan Gallagher scored the opening point of the second half in the 31st minute. Ballinrobe points in the 35th and 39th minutes reduced the deficit to a single point. A 42nd minute Dylan Gallagher point was cancelled out a minute later but in the 45th minute, Ballinrobe goaled for the second time. They added points in the 48th and 50th minutes to go four points ahead but Davitts responded well and three unanswered Dylan Gallagher points reduced the lead to a single point with the game entering injury time. Ballinrobe wrapped it up in the 61st minute with a very well worked third goal and though Tadhg Feerick got another Davitts point in the next minute, time ran out for the home side and Ballinrobe advanced to the final.

Davitts had super performances from Sean Keadin, Aaron Trench and Ethan Boyle in defence, Mark Birmingham at midfield and Dylan Gallagher, Fionn McLoughlin and Tadhg Feerick up front.

Davitts: Dylan O Brien, Sean Meehan, Brian Hett, Sean Keadin (0-1), Noah O Brien, Aaron Trench, Ethan Boyle, Mark Birmingham, Burke Briere, Brian Corless, Dylan Gallagher (0-9), Tadhg Feerick (0-1), Fionn McTigue, Fionn McLoughlin (1-1), Ronan Kelly (1-0). Subs used: Aaron CB, Conor Feerick.

Scroll to top