Ballindine, Co. Mayo

June 23, 2023

U-16 County D C’ship v Ardmoy match report

Davitts 3-9  Ardmoy 3-14

An impressive Ardmoy U-16 team travelled to Ballindine on Thursday evening in the opening round of the County D Championship and they emerged victors by four points after an entertaining encounter.

The visitors opened the scoring with a first minute point. Points from Tadhg Feerick and Dylan Burke in the 5th and 7th minutes put Davitts ahead but three Ardmoy points between the 8th and 11th minutes saw them lead by two before three Aaron O Dea points, two from frees after Mairtin Elizari was fouled, saw the homeside regain the lead in the 21st minute. Aaron O Dea picked up a leg injury shortly after that, forcing his retiral, and this certainly did not help his team’s cause. Davitts keeper Ronan Hett pulled off a couple of smart saves but Ardmoy tagged on five unanswered points before the break to lead by 0-9 to 0-5.

Two Noah O Brien points in the opening three minutes of the second half reduced the deficit to two but Ardmoy broke through for a 35th minute goal and added a point two minutes later to lead by seven. Davitts fought back well however and good link up play between Aaron CB and Dylan Gormally saw the latter being fouled in the square. Aaron CB slotted home the resulting penalty to leave four points separating the sides with twenty minutes remaining.

Ardmoy extended their lead with points in the 45th and 46th minutes but a superb Aaron CB goal gave Davitts hope. Ardmoy response was swift and they goaled themselves after a sweeping move in the 50th minute and they extended their lead to ten points with another goal and point in the 52nd and 53rd minutes. Davitts were reeling but they refused to lie down and midfielder Dylan Burke fired over two excellent points before Tadhg Feerick scored a brilliant goal with time running out, to narrow the deficit to four points. Ardmoy had the last say with an injury time point to win the game by five points.

Davitts will learn from this game and playing against the stronger opposition in this competition will help their development. The team coasted to the League Div 6 title a few weeks ago and are rightly contesting the D Championship, a higher standard. Tadhg Feerick gave an outstanding display at centre back, with the other defenders all having their moments against a crafty Ardmoy attack. Dylan Burke and Noah O Brien competed well at midfield. Aaron O Dea was looking very threatening up front before he got injured as was Aaron CB and Dylan Gormally. Mairtin Elizari worked extremely hard along with Luke and Adam Rattigan.

Davitts: Ronan Hett, Cillian Kearns, Jason Boyle, Sean Clarke, Tadhg Feerick (1-1), Odhran O Connaire, Noah O Brien (0-2), Dylan Burke (0-3), Luke Rattigan, Dylan Gormally, Mairtin Elizari, Aaron O Dea (0-3), Aaron Conneely Basham (2-0). Sub: Adam Rattigan.

Scroll to top