Ballindine, Co. Mayo

June 17, 2013

U-14’s v Charlestown – League Final – Match Report

Charlestown 2-19  Davitts 3-7

Charlestown captured the County U-14 Div 3 League title in fine style in McHale Park on Monday evening, defeating a gallant Davitts team after a very entertaining game. Charlestown possessed a slick attacking unit that Davitts just couldn’t shackle and in centre forward Paul Towey they had the game’s most influencial figure. He ended up with a tally of 1-8 and got great support from Matthew Lenihan, Eoin Beirne, Luke Dunleavy, Conor O Toole, Patrick Goldrick and Rory Cullen.

Charlestown led by 1-8 to 0-5 at halftime, the goal coming in the closing minutes of the half, directly from a Towey free kick. They extended the lead to 1-14 to 0-6 midway through the second half before Jack Mahon scored their second goal. Davitts showed great spirit and two goals from Jack Ronayne and a third from Niall Kearns narrowed the gap but they left it too late to mount a serious challenge. Their best players were Niall Kearns, Jordan Flanagan, Aidan  and Liam Macken and Jack Ronayne.

Charlestown: Declan Forkan, Conor Maye, Eoin Beirne, Daniel Murphy, Matthew Lenihan (0-3), Aaron Doherty, Luke Dunleavy (0-1), Conor O Toole, Ben Crean, Paul Towey (1-8), Patrick Goldrick (0-3), Rory Cullen (0-2), Paddy Ward (0-1). Subs used: Jack Mahon (1-1), Martin McCormack.

Davitts: James Corless, Jordan Flanagan, Niall Kearns (1-0), Aidan Macken, Ciaran Fahy, Dimitri Trench, Thomas Corless (0-1), Ryan McLoughlin (0-1), Liam Macken, Caelainn Mullee (0-2), Shane Cummins, Jack Ronayne (2-3), Cian Treacy. Subs used: Cian Naughton, David Devane, Stephen Nyland.

Referee: Liam Higgins.

Scroll to top