Ballindine, Co. Mayo

April 24, 2017

U-14s qualify for National Feile Finals

U-14 Captain Brian Og McTigue

U-14 panel 2017

Davitts U-14 Team qualified for the National Feile Finals by winning the Mayo Feile B competition in Parke last Saturday. Davitts defeated Crossmolina in the Semi-Final and Kilmovee Shamrocks in the Final.

This is the first time that Davitts have qualified for the National Finals so huge credit to all the lads and their hard working management team of Derek Byrne, Frank Kelly, Darren Connolly and Tommy Ronayne.

Crossmolina provided stiff competition in the Semi-Final but Davitts ran out 2-8 to 0-7 winners, with Jack Devane (1-6), Joe Prendergast (1-1) and Fenton Kelly (0-1) the scorers.

Davitts proved much too strong for Kilmovee in the final thanks to a superbly disciplined defence with Jack Devane (3-2), Joe Prendergast (1-1), Fenton Kelly (1-1), Jack Melvin (0-1), Dylan Gallagher (0-1) and Davy Hennessy (0-1) scoring as Davitts won by 5-7 to 0-3.

Tristan Diskin kept two clean sheets in a terrific display of goalkeeping. Micheal Hett was an assured full back with Fionan Gallagher, Thomas Ronayne, Cathal Corless, team captain Brian Og McTigue, Cathal Devane and Ian Prendergast solid all day in a mean defence.

Fenton Kelly and John Wallace were in top form at midfield and John Wallace’s man marking job on Kilmovee’s dangerman was crucial in the final.

Up front Jack Devane was superb throughout and he is a player that will light up the Finals. Joe Prendergast was excellent too with Jack Melvin, Bon Glynn, Mark Bermingham, Brian Bermingham, Dylan Gallagher, Davy Hennessy, Brian Eagney, Fionn McLoughlin, Ryan Rattigan and Jamie Raftery all contributing to this historic day in the Club’s history.

Scroll to top