Ballindine, Co. Mayo

September 25, 2021

South Mayo U-18 A C’ship v Claremorris match report

Davitts U-18’s made the short journey to Claremorris to take on the locals in the South A Championship on Friday evening but Claremorris, boasting a much more economical attack, took the spoils on a 2-14 to 0-13 scoreline. Claremorris were much sharper, particularly in the first half, with the benefit of a game under their belts already a possible factor, and now Davitts have to beat Ballinrobe next week to have a chance of reaching the final.

Claremorris had two points on the board before Dylan Gallagher opened Davitts account in the 7th minute. A ninth minute point for the homeside was cancelled out by a Fenton Kelly score a minute later but while Davitts shot six wides in the next five minutes while Claremorris tagged on a goal and three points to go seven points ahead. Fenton Kelly pulled one back for Davitts before the first water break.

Three Claremorris points in the second quarter were matched by three similar Davitts scores from the boot of Cathal Corless but a second Claremorris goal just before half time left the homeside ahead by 2-9 to 0-6 at the break and Davitts with a mountain to climb.

The stop start nature of the second half suited Claremorris and some fine defending and excellent goalkeeping thwarted Davitts on several occasions. Points from Dylan Gallagher and Cathal Corless (2) and three similar Claremorris scores maintained a nine point margin between the sides as the game entered the final quarter and semi darkness.

Davitts threw everything they had at the homeside but two more Cathal Corless points and one each from Fenton Kelly and Bon Glynn was not enough as Claremorris tagged on two more themselves before the final whistle to end up the victors by seven points.

Davitts best performers in this game were Brian Og McTigue, Fionnan Gallagher, Thomas Ronayne, Fenton Kelly, Cathal Corless, Jack Melvin, Dylan Gallagher and Bon Glynn.

Davitts: Tristan Diskin, Mark Birmingham, Micheal Hett, Brian Og McTigue, Fionnan Gallagher, Thomas Ronayne, Brian Birmingham, Fenton Kelly (0-3), Cathal Corless (0-7), Sean Keadin, Jack Melvin, Davey Hennessy, Dylan Gallagher (0-2), Jack Devane, Fionn McLoughlin. Subs used: Bon Glynn (0-1), Conor McDermott.




Please follow and like us:
Scroll to top