Ballindine, Co. Mayo

August 4, 2022

South Mayo Junior semi-final replay match report

Davitts 2-8  Garrymore 3-7

This replay of the South Mayo Junior Championship semi-final was just as close a battle as the drawn game but Garrymore just edged it by two points to advance to the A final against Claremorris. Davitts will play The Neale in the B final.

Garrymore scored the first point in the 2nd minute but this was matched by Brian Og McTigue, Davitts dynamic corner back, two minutes later. Garrymore, wind assisted, were enjoying a lot of possession but found the going tough against a very youthful Davitts defence. Indeed, both sets of defenders were on top in the opening period. Garrymore added points in the 6th, 13th and 16th minutes and when they goaled in the 21st minute and added another point three minutes later, things looked very bad for the homeside. Davitts did rally however and a Darragh McGale goal in the 29th minute after excellent work by Jordan Flanagan, Johnno Clarke and Ryan McLoughlin, left four points separating the sides at the break.

Davitts were right back in the game in the 33rd minute when a great move involving Davy Hennessy, Jack Trench and Darragh McGale was finished to the net by Johnno Clarke. The same player equalised the game with a 55th minute point and Richie Kilkenny pointed a minute later, after another sweeping move, to put Davitts ahead for the first time in the game. Garrymore shot a levelling point in the 36th minute but Richie Kilkenny and Darragh McGale fired over in the 40th and 41st minutes as Davitts went two points ahead. Garrymore goaled in the 46th minute when a long delivery wasn’t dealt with and this score saw the visitors regain the initiative. They pointed again in the 47th minute and a third goal two minutes later saw them take a five point lead into the closing ten minutes. Darragh McGale shot Davitts points in the 52nd, 54th and 56th minutes to narrow the deficit to two points but Garrymore hung on as the exchanges were getting more heated.

This was a well contested match with the large attendance entertained right up to the final whistle. Davitts had top class displays from Brian Og McTigue, Jordan Flanagan, Fionnan Gallagher, Micheal Hett, Sean Feerick, Johnno Clarke, Davy Hennessy, Darragh McGale and sub Richie Kilkenny.

Davitts: Tristan Diskin, Brian Og McTigue (0-1), Lawrence Daly, Jordan Flanagan, Fionnan Gallagher, Micheal Hett, Sean Feerick, Shane Mitchell, Charlie Phillips, Jack Trench, Johnno Clarke (1-1), Tom Corless, Davy Hennessy, Darragh McGale (1-4), Ryan McLoughlin. Subs used: Richie Kilkenny (0-2), Danny Corless, Brian Birmingham, John Costello.

Please follow and like us:
Scroll to top