Ballindine, Co. Mayo

September 14, 2023

South Mayo Junior C’ship v Hollycarra match report

Hollymount Carramore 2-8  Davitts 1-8

Davitts Junior team travelled to Hollymount on Saturday evening but were narrowly defeated by the homeside in a well contested South Mayo Championship tie. A late late goal by the locals finally ended the stern challenge of the visitors.

The game was just ten minutes old when the referee Martin Murphy had to retire with an injury and the teams tied at one point each. Local man, Kevin Connelly, a former top referee, took over the reins and did a reasonable job for the remainder of the game. A brilliantly struck Hollycarra goal in the 13th minute was what separated the sides at the break, 1-5 to 0-5, with Davey Hennessy (2) and the evergreen Ronan McNamara (3) the Davitts marksmen. Davitts cause was not helped by the dismissal of wing back James Cummins late on in the first half.

Hollycarra started the second half well but the Davitts defence, led by Lawrence Daly who had a superb game, limited them to two points in a dour third quarter. In the 46th minute a lovely move involving Liam Kearns and Ronan McNamara ended with Colm Roche, another player that impressed, firing home a brilliant goal that narrowed the gap to two points and set up an exciting finish. In the 52nd minute the locals had a player sent off and a Davey Hennessy point in the 53rd minute left the minimum between the sides as Davitts surged forward. Liam Kearns equalised in the 57th minute after a great run. Hollycarra regained the lead in the 59th minute and Aidan Macken, after a sweeping move, fired over an injury time equaliser. The local lads weren’t finished yet and they scored a great goal in the 63rd minute to finally end the Davitts challenge. They almost got another goal but some terrific defending kept them out before the final whistle was sounded.

Best for Davitts who played some great stuff especially when they were a player down were Sean Meehan, Lawrence Daly, Steve Nyland, Aidan Macken, Fionn McLoughlin, Ronan McNamara and Colm Roche.

Davitts: Dave Mitchell, Sean Meehan, Lawrence Daly, Sean Feerick, Aaron Trench, Jack Trench, James Cummins, Aidan Macken (0-1), Steve Nyland, Ryan McLoughlin, Liam Kearns (0-1), Fionn McLoughlin, Davey Hennessy (0-3), Ronan McNamara (0-3), Colm Roche (1-0). Subs used: Michael Waldron, Joe Prendergast.

Please follow and like us:
Scroll to top