Ballindine, Co. Mayo

April 30, 2019

Seniors v The Neale – Match Report

Davitts took on The Neale in Div 3 of the Senior League on Saturday in Ballindine with the visitors winning by 1-15 to 0-10 after producing a very strong second half performance.

The Neale played with the assistance of the wind in the first half and shot the opening three points in the first six minutes. The Davitts defence tightened up considerably for the remainder of the half with Patrick Keadin, Cathal Higgins, Tommy Waldron and Dmitry Trench impressing. Ronan McNamara pulled one back with a 55 metre free kick a minute later. The Neale pointed again in the fifteenth minute and again in the eighteenth minute, just after Ronan McNamara had swung over another long ranger. Ronan McNamara narrowed the gap to two points with another fine 20th minute strike but The Neale cancelled this out almost immediately. Michael Conroy pointed twice from placed balls in the last five minutes of the half with Evan Ronane getting his side’s first point from play in injury time with The Neale adding one point to their tally to lead by 0-7 to 0-6 at halftime.

When Tommy Waldron pointed in the second minute after the restart,after good work by Michael Conroy and the quick thinking Keith Prendergast, it looked like the home side were set to push on. The Neale had other ideas and they began to gain control of the game. They pointed in the 5th, 11th, 14th, 15th and 16th minutes with Cathal Hennelly firing over two well taken points for Davitts in the 13th and 17th minutes. A goal for The Neale in the 20th minute put paid to Davitts chances and they added three more points before the finish with a neat Darragh McGale point, Davitts sole reply.

Davitts: Cian Naughton, Patrick Keadin, Cathal Higgins, Lawrence Daly, Tommy Waldron (0-1), Ciaran Fahy, Dmitry Trench, Ronan McNamara (0-3), Michael Waldron, Liam Kearns, Cathal Hennelly (0-2), Evan Ronane (0-1), Keith Prendergast, Michael Conroy (0-2), Padraig Mangan.. Subs used: Darragh McGale (0-1), Liam Noone, Shane Mitchell, Shane Treacy, Tom Corless, Frankie Barrett.

Please follow and like us:
Scroll to top