Ballindine, Co. Mayo

August 14, 2017

Seniors v Knockmore – Match Report

Davitts 1-8 Knockmore 4-21

A very impressive Knockmore team gave Davitts a real hammering in this Senior League Division 1 game played in Ballindine on Saturday evening.

The visitors started brightly and had six points on the board through Kieran Langan, Peter Naughton (3), Keith Ruttledge and James Ruddy by the 10th minute with Liam Kearns getting Davitts sole reply.

The visitors, dominant in all areas, added further points from Keith Ruttledge, Colm Reape and Darren McHale with Ronan McNamara and Josh Ronayne replying for the homeside before Keith Ruttledge buried a great goal for Knockmore in the 22nd minute. Peter Naughton, Darren McHale (2) and Kieran Langan pointed for the visitors as did Shane Treacy for Davitts before Knockmore full back Shane McHale got on the end of another sweeping move to flick in his side’s second goal on the stroke of halftime to leave the visitors ahead by 2-14 to 0-4 at the break.

Knockmore had three points on the board via the very impressive Darren McHale, and Peter Naughton (2) before Liam Kearns and Ronan McNamara pulled two back for Davitts. A superb individual Darren McHale goal followed in the 9th minute and the same player pointed before full forward Kieran Langan goaled again for the visitors in the 17th minute. Liam Kearns for Davitts and Peter Naughton and Kieran Langan for Knockmore added points as the game petered out. Josh Ronayne goaled for Davitts in th 24th minute and the same player and Peter Naughton swapped points before the finish as Knockmore sit at the top of the table and Davitts in real trouble at the bottom.

Outstanding for Knockmore were Shane McHale, David McHale, Justin Rice, James Ruddy, Darren McHale, Peter Naughton, Kieran Langan and Keith Ruttledge.

Best for a disappointing Davitts team were Cathal Higgins, Lawrence Daly, Josh Ronayne, Paul Carey, Ronan McNamara and Jack Ronayne.

Davitts: Adrian McNamara, Kieran Fahy, Cathal Higgins, Lawrence Daly, Thomas Waldron, Padraig Mangan, Johnno Clarke, Declan Healy, William Freeley, Josh Ronayne (1-2), Liam Kearns (0-3), Shane Treacy (0-1), Paul Carey, Ronan McNamara (0-2), Jack Ronayne. Subs used: James Cummins, Martin Cosgrove, Michael Conroy, Clive Hennigan, Keith Prendergast.

Knockmore: Aidan Kilcoyne, Cormac Reape, Shane McHale (1-0), Alan Statler, David McHale, Justin Rice, Nathan Hardy, Andrew Keane, James Ruddy (0-1), Darren McHale (1-5), Colm Reape (0-1), Peter Naughton (0-9), Sean Ruttledge, Kieran Langan (1-3), Keith Ruttledge (1-2). Subs used: Brian Gibbons, Thomas Clarke, Alan Loftus, Ryan Casey, Francie O Neill, David Walsh.

Referee: John Glavey (Aghamore).

Please follow and like us:
Scroll to top