Ballindine, Co. Mayo

April 24, 2016

Seniors v Kiltimagh – Match Report

Kiltimagh 1-12 Davitts 2-10

Kiltimagh hosted Davitts in this Senior League Division 1B clash on Sunday with the visitors just edging a thrilling encounter. A youthful Kiltimagh side had led by 0-8 to 1-4 at half time with Eoghan Lavin (4), Ronan Mallee, Sean Moran, Cillian Finn and Paul Kelly their point scorers. Liam Kearns, Michael Conroy and Josh Ronayne (2) had pointed for Davitts with Ronan McNamara bagging the first half goal. Davitts custodian Adrian McNamara had pulled off a superb save from a Stephen McDonnell shot in the 6th minute.

The two teams tore into each other from the start of the second half but a Kiltimagh goal finished by wing back Cillian Finn had them four points ahead midway through the second half. Davitts response was good and dynamic midfielder Colm Boyle burst through the Kiltimagh defence five minutes later, to feed Cathal Hennelly, whose raping shot came back of the crossbar and Josh Ronayne finished the rebound to the net to set up a nail biting finish. Both sides had chances to win the game as the two teams were tied entering injury time but after Michael Conroy was fouled thirty metres out, Liam Kearns showed great nerve to nail the resultant free kick and win the game for his side.

Best for Davitts were Colm Roche, Cathal Higgins, James Cummins, Cathal Hennelly, Colm Boyle, the very impressive Michael Conroy and Josh Ronayne.

Best for an unlucky Kiltimagh team were Kevin Mulderrig (a very promising full back), Cillian Finn, Sean Moran, Sean Walsh, Stephen McDonnell, Eoghan Lavin and Ronan Mallee.

Kiltimagh: Shane Mallee, Conor Heneghan, Kevin Mulderrig, Jack Carroll, Cillian Finn (1-1), Sean Moran (0-1), Joe Mulhern, Paul Kelly (0-1), Sean Walsh (0-1), Brian Gallagher, Ciaran Charlton, Stephen McDonnell (0-2), Eoghan Lavin (0-4), Thomas Keegan (0-1), Ronan Mallee (0-1). Subs used: Paul Walsh, Paddy McDonnell, David Mulhern.

Davitts: Adrian McNamara, Kevin Gallagher, Cathal Higgins, Colm Roche, James Cummins, Johnno Clarke, Cathal Hennelly, Declan Healy, Colm Boyle (0-1), Liam Kearns (0-2), Keith Prendergast, Thomas Waldron, Josh Ronayne (1-6), Ronan McNamara (1-0), Michael Conroy (0-1). Subs used: Andrew Peters, Sean Waldron, Paul Carey, Evan Ronayne.

Scroll to top