Ballindine, Co. Mayo

July 12, 2015

Seniors v Hollymount Carramore – Match Report

Davitts 1-6 Hollymount Carramore 2-12

Cathal Hennelly scored a goal for Davitts in the opening seconds of this Senior Div 1A game in Ballindine on Saturday evening to give the homeside the perfect start. Hollymount Carramore dominated the remainder of the match however and their nine point winning margin didn’t flatter them as they played sensible, confident and direct football over the course of the game.

Darren Coen pointed in the ninth minute and the same player hammered home a penalty two minutes later, after Oisin Gill was deemed to be fouled, to give his side the lead. Hollymount Carramore took control throughout the pitch and points from Coen (3), Kevin Feerick and Clifford Connolly before the break with Cathal Hennelly pulling one back on the stroke of halftime left the visitors ahead by 1-6 to 1-1 at the interval.

Davitts, with the wind at their backs, began the second half well and two Hennelly points in the first four minutes gave them hope. A fine Kevin Feerick goal in the seventh minute after a sweeping move gave Hollymount Carramore a six point lead and knocked the stuffing out of the homeside. Liam Kearns pointed for Davitts but two Darren Coen frees in the 10th and 12th minutes had the visitors seven ahead. Cathal Hennelly pulled one back but Ian Costello and Darren Coen pointed two apiece before the finish with Hennelly getting Davitts only reply.

Hollymount Carramore were very impressive in this game and had outstanding performers throughout the field especially Darren McHugh, Barry Sheridan, Alan Fahey, Kevin Feerick, Ian and Dermot Costello and Darren Coen.

Davitts will quickly want to forget this error ridden performance with only Donal Ronayne, James Cummins, Ronan McNamara, Johnno Clarke and Cathal Hennelly displaying anything like their true potential.

Hollymount Carramore: Niall Campbell, Ray Connelly, Darren McHugh, Louis Macken, Robert Molloy, Barry Sheridan, Oisin Gill, Padraig Feerick, Alan Fahey, Kevin Feerick (1-1), Ian Costello (0-2), Dermot Costello, Conor Keane, Darren Coen (1-8), Clifford Connolly (0-1). Subs used: Kevin Costello, Damian Kelly, Richie Bell, Lorcan McNamara, Enda Maloney.

Davitts: Micheal Mangan, Donal Ronayne, Tommy Nolan, Kevin Gallagher, James Cummins, Cathal Higgins, Padraig Mangan, Ronan McNamara, Declan Healy, Mark Ronayne, Liam Kearns (0-1), Johnno Clarke, Cathal Hennelly (1-5), Sean Waldron, Andrew Peters. Subs used: Matthew Trench, Liam Noone.

Referee: Gerard Lohan.

Scroll to top