Ballindine, Co. Mayo

April 9, 2017

Seniors v Crossmolina – Match Report

Davitts 0-11 Crossmolina 2-10

Crossmolina made the trip to Ballindine for their opening Senior League Division 1A game against Davitts a winning one when defeating the homeside by five points.

The visitors started well with points from Fionan Duffy and the ageless Peadar Gardiner before Evan Ronane pulled one back for Davitts in the 7th minute. The next score came in the 15th minute and it was a crucial one with Brian Benson goaling after some slick attacking movement from the North Mayo men. Davitts responded well, shooting the next three points courtesy of Evan Ronane and Liam Kearns (2), to narrow the gap to two but Crossmolina closed the half with three points in the final three minutes from Tom Cafferkey, David Howley and Fionan Duffy to lead by 1-6 to 0-4 at the break.

Crossmolina goaled again two minutes into the second half with Dean Loftus applying the finish after the Davitts defence was opened up again. A Liam Kearns point in the 12th minute for Davitts was cancelled out a minute later by Michael Loftus. Colm Boyle, Liam Kearns and Ronan McNamara all pointed to leave five points between the sides with ten minutes remaining. Some great play by Ronan McNamara and Colm Boyle set up a goal chance for Evan Ronane but his shot was saved superbly by Shane Keane the Crossmolina goalie whose defenders managed to scramble away Boyle’s punched attempt from the rebound before sweeping up the field and pointing through Fionan Duffy, to kill off the homeside.

Conor Loftus and Brian Benson pointed for Crossmolina before Cathal Hennelly replied for Davitts before the final whistle.

Crossmolina had fine performances from Stephen Duffy, Peadar Gardiner, Tommy Cafferkey, Jordan Flynn, Martin McAndrew, Brian Benson and Fionan Duffy.

Best for Davitts were Cathal Higgins, Thomas Waldron, Colm Boyle, Declan Healy, Liam Kearns, Ronan McNamara and Evan Ronane.

Crossmolina: Shane Keane, Stephen O Malley, Stephen Duffy, Hugh Cafferkey, Peadar Gardiner (0-1), Tommy Cafferkey (0-1), Kevin Mulhern, Jordan Flynn, Martin McAndrew, David Howley (0-1), Michael Loftus (0-1), Conor Loftus (0-1), Dean Loftus (1-0), Brian Benson (1-1), Fionan Duffy (0-4). Sub used: Jonathon O Boyle.

Davitts: Adrian McNamara, Colm Roche, Cathal Higgins, James Cummins, Johnno Clarke, Colm Boyle (0-1), Thomas Waldron, Declan Healy, Cathal Hennelly (0-1), Shane Treacy, Liam Kearns (0-6), Keith Prendergast, Paul Carey, Ronan McNamara (0-1), Evan Ronane (0-2). Subs used: Andrew Peters, Padraig Mangan, Martin Cosgrove.

Referee: Michael Daly.

Scroll to top