Ballindine, Co. Mayo

May 18, 2014

Seniors v Crossmolina – Match Report

Crossmolina 0-10 Davitts 0-7.

Crossmolina defeated Davitts in the second round of the Senior League Div 1A played in difficult conditions in Crossmolina on Saturday evening. Davitts, wind assisted in the first half, failed to gain advantage by playing a strangely defensive type of game, and the sides went in level at 0-3 apiece at halftime.

Seamus Roche opened the scoring in the first minute for Davitts before points from the mercurial Ciaran McDonald and Kevin Mulhern gave the hosts the lead. Josh Ronayne equalised in the tenth minute and Colm Roche put Davitts ahead six minutes later with a fine score. McDonald had the last say in a very poor first half when he pointed in the 25th minute.

The second half began with Brian Benson for Crossmolina and Davitts Michael Conroy trading points in the 4th and 5th minutes. Peadar Gardiner’s seventh minute point was cancelled out by another Conroy score two minutes later. Crossmolina assumed full control of the game from then on and only some superb defending from Davitts Colm Boyle, Kevin Gallagher and Colm Roche kept the scoreline respectable for the visitors.

Points from Benson (2), Fionn Duffy and McDonald (2) for Crossmolina with Davitts replying through Conroy and Matthew Trench completed the scoring in a poor match.

Crossmolina had good performances from Chris Moyles, Jonathon O Boyle, John Garrett, Peadar Gardiner, Brian Benson and Ciaran McDonald.

For Davitts only Colm Boyle, Kevin Gallagher, Colm Roche, Michael Conroy and sub Matthew Trench made any impact.

Crossmolina: Shane Keane, Chris Moyles, Tom Cafferkey, Jonathon O Boyle, John Garrett, Stephen O Malley, Peadar Gardiner (0-1), Paul Duffy, James Cafferkey, Kevin Mulhern (0-1), Declan Keating, Michael Gallagher, Brian Benson (0-3), Ciaran McDonald (0-4), Fionn Duffy (0-1). Subs used: Keith Hopkins, Mark Leonard.

Davitts: Adrian McNamara, Mark Ronayne, Padraig Mangan, Kevin Gallagher, Colm Roche (0-1), Keith Prendergast, Colm Boyle, Ronan McNamara, Josh Ronayne (0-1), Seamus Roche (0-1), Fearghal McGrath, Thomas Waldron, Liam Kearns, Paul Carey, Michael Conroy (0-3). Subs used: Cathal Higgins, Andrew Peters, Donal Ronayne, Aidan McTigue, Matthew Trench (0-1), James Cummins.

Scroll to top