Ballindine, Co. Mayo

April 26, 2015

Seniors v Crossmolina – Match Report

Davitts 0-9 Crossmolina 2-10

Crossmolina, much sharper in attack, defeated Davitts by seven points in this Senior League Division 1A clash in Ballindine on Sunday. Two well taken Conor Loftus goals, the first with the last kick of the first half and the second five minutes from the end were the game’s major scores.

Loftus opened the scoring with a point after 30 seconds and he and the impressive Fionan Duffy and Jonathan O’Boyle added three more before Josh Ronayne opened the homeside’s account in the 15th minute. Sean Kelly and Fionan Duffy extended the Crossmolina lead and Josh Ronayne , Colm Roche and Padraig Mangan for Davitts and Fionan Duffy and Dermot Hegarty exchanged points before Conor Loftus got a crucial goal with the last kick of the first half to leave the visitors ahead by 1-8 to 0-4 at the break.

Davitts, missing several regulars, fought hard in the second half. Sean Waldron and Josh Ronayne pointed in the sixth and seventh minutes for the homeside with Cathal Carolan replying for Crossmolina. Colm Roche narrowed the gap to five points in the 16th minute. Davitts were throwing everything at Crossmolina at this stage but a Sean Kelly free extended his side’s lead. In the 25th minute Colm Boyle created a great goal chance for Josh Ronayne but he delayed his shot and was pulled for over-carrying by referee Michael Daly. From the resulting free Crossmolina broke swiftly upfield and Conor Loftus was on the end of the move to rifle home his side’s second goal. Two Josh Ronayne points for Davitts completed the game’s scoring.

Crossmolina had impressive performers in Mark Leonard, Jonathan O’Boyle, Derek Hegarty, Gabriel Walsh, Cathal Carolan, Fionan Duffy and Conor Loftus.

Best for Davitts were Colm Roche, Cathal Higgins, James Cummins, Sean Waldron, Padraig Mangan, Colm Boyle and Josh Ronayne.

Davitts: Michael Mangan, Kevin Gallagher, Tommy Nolan, Donal Ronayne, Colm Roche (0-2), Colm Boyle, James Cummins, Padraig Mangan (0-1), Sean Waldron (0-1), Mark Ronayne, Cathal Higgins, Johnno Clarke, Matthew Trench, Josh Ronayne (0-5), Andrew Peters. Subs used: William Freeley, Martin Cosgrove.

Crossmolina: Colm Reilly, Chris Moyles, Mark Leonard, Jonathan O’Boyle (0-1), Derek Hegarty (0-1), Gabriel Walsh, Paul Duffy, Kevin Mulhern, Michael Loftus, Cathal Carolan (0-1), Conor Loftus (2-2), Sean Kelly (0-2), Fionan Duffy (0-3). Subs used: John Garrett, Jordan Flynn, Tom McNulty, Gerard Haran, Brian Benson.

Referee: Michael Daly.

Scroll to top