Ballindine, Co. Mayo

October 5, 2015

Seniors v Claremorris – Match Report

Claremorris 0-12 Davitts 1-6

Claremorris hosted Davitts in this Senior League Div 1A Basement clash with the homeside coming out on top by three points after a tense battle. Davitts started well and got the first score in the sixth minute, a well taken goal by centre half back Cathal Higgins. Andy Peters added a point six minutes later before James Shaughnessy opened the Claremorris account in the 13th minute. Referee Mel Kenny disallowed a Liam Kearns goal for Davitts in the 16th minute, one of a number of decisions that infuriated the away supporters. Sean Diskin and James Shaughnessy pointed in the 18th and 19th minutes for the homeside before Colm Boyle pointed for Davitts after a great run two minutes later. Sean Diskin narrowed the gap to a point with the score of the game in the 22nd minute, a delightful dummy before pointing with the outside of his boot. The same player levelled the game in the 26th minute and the sides went in level at the break.

Andy Peters opened the second half scoring in the 2nd minute but points from James Shaughnessy (2) and Stephen Brennan put Claremorris into a two point lead after ten minutes. Points from Liam Kearns, Josh Ronayne and Colm Boyle saw Davitts regain the lead by the 16th minute. Davitts were on top at this stage but some poor shooting was to prove costly for them. James Shaughnessy pointed to equalise with ten minutes remaining and the same player, Mickey Mullins and Danny Broderick, on the stroke of full time, added points as Davitts kicked six bad wides in the final ten minutes.

Best for Claremorris were David Egan, Ger Commins, Brian Gallagher, Mickey Mullins, James Shaughnessy, John Hutton and Sean Diskin.

Micheal Mangan, Cathal Higgins, Colm Roche, Declan Healy, Colm Boyle, Liam Kearns and Andy Peters did best for Davitts.

Claremorris: Alvin McCallig, Brian Fahy, David Egan, James Stretton, Padraig Ring, Ryan Quirke, Ger Commins, Brian Gallagher, David O Reilly, Michael Gallagher, Stephen Brennan (0-1), Mickey Mullins (0-1), James Shaughnessy (0-6), John Hutton, Sean Diskin (0-3). Subs used: Ger Brady, Danny Broderick (0-1), Shane Prendergast.

Davitts: Micheal Mangan, Brian Clarke, Tommy Nolan, Kevin Gallagher, Johnno Clarke, Cathal Higgins (1-0), Colm Roche, Ronan McNamara, Declan Healy, Colm Boyle (0-2), Liam Kearns (0-1), Josh Ronayne (0-1), Sean Waldron, Andy Peters (0-2). Subs used: Michael Waldron, Liam Noone.

Referee: Mel Kenny (Westport).

Scroll to top