Ballindine, Co. Mayo

September 13, 2015

Seniors v Castlebar – Match Report

Castlebar Mitchels 2-16 Davitts 2-6

Castlebar travelled to Ballindine on Sunday and defeated the homeside by ten points in the Senior League Div 1A. The Mitchels did most of the damage in the first half in a powerful display but Davitts will take encouragement from a fighting second half display.

Aidan Walsh opened the scoring for Castlebar in the 6th minute and his midfield partner Ger McDonagh goaled two minutes later. Josh Ronayne scored Davitts only score of the opening half, a tenth minute point before the rampant visitors assumed full control. Points from Aidan Walsh and Pat Durkin were followed by a cracking Danny Kirby goal in the 17th minute. Mitchels added points via Aidan Walsh, Shane Hopkins, Danny Kirby, Neil Douglas and Pat Durkin to lead by 2-8 to 0-1 at the interval.

James Durkin and Aidan Walsh extended the visitors lead and Liam Kearns pulled one back for Davitts. A superb Colm Boyle goal in the fifteenth minute gave the homeside some hope although Castlebar responded immediately with a Neil Lydon point. Davitts struck for their second goal three minutes later, with Andrew Peters supplying a neat finish to a terrific move involving several players. The same player added a point two minutes later as Davitts showed a lot of spirit. Castlebar showed their strength in depth as second half substitutes Cian Costello (2), David Stenson and James Durkin (2) added points before the finish with Liam Kearns (2) and Cathal Hennelly pointing for Davitts.

Castlebar, powerful in all areas, had superb performances from Donal Newcombe, Pat Durkin, Aidan Walsh, Ger McDonagh, Neil Douglas, Danny Kirby, Cian Costello and James Durkin.

Cathal Higgins, Colm Boyle, James Cummins, Declan Healy, Andrew Peters, Ronan McNamara and Cathal Hennelly fought valiantly for Davitts throughout.

Castlebar: Ciaran Naughton, Ray O Malley, Alan Feeney, Donal Newcombe, Pat Durkin (0-2), Eoghan O Reilly, Sean Conlon, Ger McDonagh (1-0), Aidan Walsh (0-4), Shane Hopkins (0-1), Neil Lydon (0-1), Neil Douglas (0-1), Stephen Keane, Danny Kirby (1-1), Fergal Durkin. Subs used: Ronan Burke, James Durkin (0-3), Cian Costello (0-2), David Stenson (0-1), Adrian Roache.

Davitts: Micheal Mangan, Brian Clarke, Cathal Higgins, Kevin Gallagher, James Cummins, Colm Boyle (1-0), Colm Roche, Josh Ronayne (0-1), Sean Waldron, Declan Healy, Liam Kearns (0-3), Padraig Mangan, Cathal Hennelly (0-1), Ronan McNamara, Andrew Peters (1-1). Subs: Johnno Clarke, Tommy Nolan, Thomas Waldron, Michael Waldron.

Referee: Michael Daly.

Scroll to top