Ballindine, Co. Mayo

September 7, 2014

Seniors v Castlebar – Match Report

Castlebar Mitchels 6-13    Davitts 0-10

Castlebar showed why they are favourites to retain the Mayo Senior Championship with a clinical second half dismantling of Davitts in this Senior League tie played in Castlebar on Sunday. Castlebar led by 1-7 to 0-8 after a well contested first half and during the interval few present could have predicted such a lopsided final scoreline. The power and fitness levels of the homeside were evident in the second half as they pulled away from the visitors.

Mitchels got off to a flyer and raced into a five point lead after eight minutes with scores from Neil Lydon (2), James Durcan (2) and Neil Douglas. A long range Ronan McNamara point and two superb Michael Conroy scores narrowed the deficit to two before another Lydon point and a goal from James Durcan had Mitchels six ahead after eighteen minutes. Davitts played their best football in the last ten minutes of the first half and points from Darren Connolly, Fearghal McGrath, Ronan McNamara and Paul Carey left just two points between the sides at halftime.

Davitts opened the second half scoring through Michael Conroy but Castlebar completely dominated the remainder of the game. They added goals via Alan Feeney, Neil Douglas, Neil Lydon and two James Durcan penalties as they ran riot. Aidan Walsh (3), Neil Lydon (2), James Durcan and Rory Byrne all pointed with Josh Ronayne supplying Davitts only score before the finish.

Castlebar’s best players were Alan Feeney, Donal Newcombe, Patrick Durcan, Neil Lydon, James Durcan and Neil Douglas.

Davitts best were Cathal Higgins, Keith Prendergast, Padraig Mangan, Paul Carey and Michael Conroy.

Castlebar: Ciaran Naughton, Ronan Burke, Alan Feeney (1-0), Donal Newcombe, Ray O’Malley, Ger McDonagh, Patrick Durcan, Danny Kirby, Barry Moran, Neil Lydon (1-5), Aidan Walsh (0-3), Fergal Durkin, James Durcan (3-3), Neil Douglas (1-1), Cian Costello. Subs used: Rory Byrne (0-1), Steve Keane, Kevin Filan, Adrian Roche.

Davitts: Michael Mangan, Kevin Gallagher, Cathal Higgins, Colm Roche, Keith Prendergast, Padraig Mangan, Martin Cosgrove, Ronan McNamara (0-3), Sean Waldron, Paul Carey (0-1), Fergal McGrath (0-1), Thomas Waldron, Darren Connolly (0-1), Michael Conroy (0-3), Aidan McTigue. Subs used: Josh Ronayne (0-1), Brian Clarke, Matthew Trench.

Referee: Michael Daly (Ballyhaunis).

Scroll to top