Ballindine, Co. Mayo

April 18, 2019

Seniors v Breaffy – Senior Championship – Match Report

Davitts 0-7     Breaffy 1-10

Davitts hosted Breaffy in the first round of the Senior Championship on Saturday evening with the visitors proving too strong in a game played in difficult windy conditions. Breaffy showed why they are regarded as one of the favourites for this year’s title but Davitts showed enough to suggest that they can be a dangerous opposition with a battling display.

Daire Morrin opened the scoring for Breaffy in the second minute with Ronan McNamara equalising for the homeside five minutes later. Breaffy were enjoying an amount of possession but Davitts , led by Colm Boyle, Cathal Higgins and Patrick Keadin, were defending resolutely. Breaffy edged ahead in the 13th minute through Tommy O Reilly but a monster Ronan McNamara free kick squared the match after 20 minutes. Liam Irwin pointed for the visitors but Michael Conroy levelled the match when his attempted lob on Rob Hennelly dropped over the bar after a long delivery from Colm Boyle. Two converted free kicks from Liam Irwin sandwiched a fine Keith Prendergast point for Davitts to leave Breaffy ahead by 0-5 to 0-4 at halftime.

Breaffy started the second half with real intent and the doubled their score with five unanswered points from Rory Martyn, Liam Irwin (2), Tommy O Reilly and Daire Morrin, in the opening ten minutes to rock Davitts. Colm Boyle pulled one back with a fine point in the 11th minute. There followed a barren thirteen minute period before Breaffy were awarded a penalty after Aidan O Shea was fouled. The foul appeared to take place outside the penalty area to the annoyance of the home team and supporters. Stephen McDermott slotted away the kick past the despairing dive of Davitts keeper Cian Naughton to put Breaffy eight points ahead. Davitts rallied and Keith Prendergast and Cathal Hennelly pointed before referee Paul Lydon blew the final whistle.

Best for Breaffy were Michael Hall, Daire Morrin, Aidan O Shea, Tommy O Reilly, Liam Irwin and Rory Martyn.

Patrick Keadin, Cathal Higgins, Colm Boyle, Padraig Mangan, Tommy Waldron, Ronan McNamara, Josh Ronayne and Keith Prendergast did best for Davitts.

Breaffy: Robert Hennelly, Mark Dervan, Conor Beirne, Dylan Cannon, Michael Hall, Colm Kelly, Daire Morrin (0-2), Aidan O Shea, Robert Fadden, Tommy O Reilly (0-2), Colm Flynn, Rory Martyn (0-1), Liam Irwin (0-5), Conor O Shea, Stephen McDermott (1-0). Subs used: Gareth Dunne, Ben Murphy, Colm Dravins.

Davitts: Cian Naughton, Patrick Keadin, Cathal Higgins, Ciaran Fahy, Dmitry Trench, Colm Boyle (0-1), Tommy Waldron, Ronan McNamara (0-2), Josh Ronayne, Keith Prendergast (0-2), Cathal Hennelly (0-1), Jack Ronayne, Padraig Mangan, Michael Conroy (0-1), Evan Ronane. Subs used: Michael Waldron, Liam Kearns.

Please follow and like us:
Scroll to top