Ballindine, Co. Mayo

October 13, 2016

Seniors v Breaffy – Match Report

Davitts 0-11 Breaffy 2-11

Davitts bowed out of this year’s Mayo Senior Championship having been beaten by Breaffy in Ballindine on Saturday evening coupled with Garrymore’s late draw with Claremorris. The results see Breaffy and Garrymore advance to the Quarter Final with Claremorris facing a relegation playoff.

Cathal Hennelly, who impressed greatly throughout, opened the scoring but two points from man of the match Liam Irwin put the visitors ahead. Liam Kearns and Keith Prendergast both pointed to give Davitts the lead again but Irwin equalized in the 16th minute and Kevin Curry goaled two minutes later as Breaffy began to dominate. Points from Curry, Irwin and Conor O Shea put the visitors six up before Ronan McNamara pointed for Davitts to leave the homeside trailing by 1-6 to 0-4 at the break.

Davitts introduced Michael Conroy at the restart as they took the game to Breaffy. Liam Kearns landed a beauty with Liam Irwin replying for Breaffy. Cathal Hennelly narrowed the gap to four points before Robbie Hennelly pulled off a fantastic save from a Ronan McNamara piledriver. Cathal Hennelly shot another Davitts point to leave three points between the sides. In the 47th minute Davitts were denied what looked like a clearcut penalty when McNamara was fouled bearing down on goal but referee Liam Devenney amazingly waved play on. Breaffy broke down the field and goaled themselves via Peter Dravins to kill off Davitts. They added points from Aidan O Shea, Liam Irwin and Robert Fadden before the finish while Liam Kearns (2), Michael Conroy and Ronan McNamara replying for the hosts before the finish.

Breaffy look like a team that will take some stopping this year and had great performances from Robert Hennelly, Michael Hall, David Gavin, Aidan O Shea, Matthew Ruane, Liam Irwin, Kevin Curry and Peter Dravins.

Best for Davitts were Cathal Higgins, Colm Boyle, Cathal Hennelly, Michael Conroy, Liam Kearns and Ronan McNamara.

Breaffy: Robert Hennelly, Michael Hall, David Gavin, Colm Dravins, Gerry Jennngs, Colm Kelly, Keith Mulchrone, Aidan O Shea (0-1), Brian Howley, Rory Martyn, Conor O Shea (0-1), Matthew Ruane, Liam Irwin (0-7), Peter Dravins (1-0), Kevin Curry (1-1). Subs: Michael Jennings, Robert Fadden (0-1), Gareth Dunne, James Minogue, Colm Jordan.

Davitts: Adrian McNamara, Colm Roche, Cathal Higgins, Kevin Gallagher, James Cummins, Colm Boyle, Johnno Clarke, Declan Healy, Keith Prendergast (0-1), Cathal Hennelly (0-3), Liam Kearns (0-4), Andy Peters, Paul Carey, Ronan McNamara (0-2), Evan Ronayne. Subs used: Michael Conroy (0-1), Aidan McTigue, Brian Clarke, Sean Waldron, Thomas Waldron.

Please follow and like us:
Scroll to top