Ballindine, Co. Mayo

April 9, 2018

Seniors v Ballintubber– Senior Championship – Match Report

Davitts 1-9 Ballintubber 1-13

Davitts hosted Ballintubber in the first round of the Senior Championship with the visitors prevailing by four points after an entertaining and exciting encounter on Saturday afternoon. Ballintubber deserved their victory but they had to use all of their craft and experience to overcome a youthful and gallant Davitts side.

The Plunkett brothers Alan and Michael fired over the first two points of the game before Josh Ronayne pulled one back for Davitts in the 7th minute. Stephen Finnerty pointed in the 12th minute and Alan Plunkett pounced for a goal three minutes later to put Ballintubber into a five point lead. Evan Ronane pointed for the homeside in the 17th minute as they worked tirelessly to stay in the game. Brian Walsh and Evan Ronane swapped points in the 22nd minute and the wily Alan Dillon pointed two minutes later to restore Ballintubber five points lead. Davitts captain Josh Ronayne goaled in the 26th minute after a terrific run by Andy Peters, to lift the home crowd. Andy Peters and Aidan McTigue shot two neat points before the half time whistle to leave the sides level at 1-5 apiece at the break.

Josh Ronayne opened the second half scoring with a 3rd minute point but points from Diarmuid O Connor,Michael Plunkett, Alan Dillon and impressive sub Stephen O Malley put the visitors three ahead as the match entered the final quarter. Two points from Aidan McTigue and Josh Ronayne narrowed the gap to a point and Ballintubber’s Brian Walsh and Davitts Andy Peters pointed in the 20th minute. Ballintubber used their experience well to finish out the game and added three late points to their tally through Stephen O Malley, Ruaidhri O Connor and Alan Dillon to see them over the line.

Best for Ballintubber were Damien Coleman, Ruaidhri O Connor, the outstanding Jason Gibbons, Michael Plunkett, Alan Dillon, Diarmuid O Connor, Alan Plunkett and Stephen O Malley.

Davitts had fine performers in Patrick Keadin, Padraig Mangan, Lawrence Daly, Dimitry Trench, Colm Boyle, the very impressive Josh Ronayne, Andy Peters and Aidan McTigue.

Ballintubber: Brendan Walsh, Myles Kelly, Cathal Hallinan, Brian Murphy, Joe Geraghty, Damien Coleman, Ruaidhri O Connor (0-1), Jason Gibbons, Michael Plunkett (0-2), Stephen Finnerty (0-1), Alan Dillon (0-3), Diarmuid O Connor (0-1), Bryan Walsh (0-2), Alan Plunkett (1-1), Padraig O Connor. Subs used: Stephen O Malley (0-2), Jarlath Staunton.

Davitts: Adrian McNamara, Patrick Keadin, Padraig Mangan, Lawrence Daly, Dimitry Trench, Cathal Higgins, Cathal Hennelly, Ronan McNamara, Colm Boyle, Jonathan Clarke, Josh Ronayne (1-3), Thomas Waldron, Andy Peters (0-2), Aidan McTigue (0-2), Evan Ronane (0-2). Subs used: Tom Corless, Paul Carey.

Referee: Frank Flynn.

Please follow and like us:
Scroll to top