Ballindine, Co. Mayo

July 11, 2015

Seniors v Ballina – Match Report

Ballina Stephenites 1-8 Davitts 1-13

Davitts travelled to Ballina and defeated their hosts to gain two valuable Senior League Div 1A points to ease their relegation worries. A superb performance from the returning Michael Conroy who scored eight points, seven from play, was key to this win. It also marked the return of Ballina’s Evan Regan, who looked lively, scoring 1-2 from placed balls and he was unlucky with two goal efforts that both hit the woodwork.

Two early Conroy points got the visitors off to a flyer but a foul on Ballina midfielder Kieran Sweeney resulted in referee Denis Harrington awarding a penalty which Regan hammered past Davitts goalie Micheal Mangan in the eighth minute. Rory Campion pointed for Ballina but points from Conroy and Josh Ronayne tied the game. Ballina went two clear with good scores from Alex Corduff and Regan but two more from Conroy levelled it again. Liam Kearns put Davitts ahead and Regan and Conroy exchanged scores before the interval to leave Davitts ahead by a point, 0-8 to 1-4 at half time.

Davitts took control of the game after the break and points from Josh Ronayne and Liam Kearns and a super individual goal by the impressive Andrew Peters put them six ahead after ten minutes. Points from Alex Corduff and Colm Leonard closed the gap but a trademark long range Ronan McNamara freekick kept Davitts ticking over. Before the finish points from Ballina’s Patrick McGarry and Ian O Dowd were cancelled out by two Michael Conroy points to cap off a wonderful individual display and a comfortable victory for Davitts.

Davitts were best served by Kevin Gallagher, Donal Ronayne, James Cummins, Ronan McNamara, Andrew Peters and Michael Conroy.

Hardest triers for Ballina were Colm Leonard, Patrick McGarry, Kieran Sweeney, Mikey Murray, Evan Regan and Alex Corduff.

Ballina: Mark Duffy, Tom Doherty, Colm Leonard (0-1), Mikey Murphy, Patrick McGarry (0-1), Lorcan Healy, David Brunker, Kieran Sweeney, Mikey Murray, Rory Tighe, Evan Regan (1-2), David O Mahoney, Rory Campion (0-1), Alex Corduff (0-2), Brendan O Hora. Subs used: Ian O Dowd (0-1), Ryan Keane, Blaise Devanney, Kevin Hughes.

Davitts: Micheal Mangan, Donal Ronayne, Tommy Nolan, Kevin Gallagher, James Cummins, Cathal Higgins, Colm Roche, Ronan McNamara (0-1), Declan Healy, Mark Ronayne, Liam Kearns (0-2), Andrew Peters (1-0), Josh Ronayne (0-2), Sean Waldron, Michael Conroy (0-8). Subs used: Padraig Mangan, Matthew Trench, Johnno Clarke, Martin Cosgrove.

Referee: Denis Harrington.

Scroll to top