Ballindine, Co. Mayo

July 27, 2014

Seniors v Ballaghderreen – Match Report

Ballaghaderreen 1-7 |Davitts 1-10

Davitts Senior Team made their journey to Ballaghaderreen a profitable one, picking up two valuable League points. Davitts did most of their good work early on and led by 1-6 to 0-3 at halftime, after playing against the wind in the first half. Ballaghaderreen showed their fighting qualities by getting right back into the game in the second half but Davitts in truth never really looked like slipping up.

Davitts opened the scoring in the second minute with a Keith Prendergast point. Fearghal McGrath goaled after six minutes, reacting first to a rebound off the post from a Darren Connolly free kick, to blast home a fine goal, and the very impressive Aidan McTigue extended their lead with three fine scores together with a Thomas Waldron beauty before Thomas Carmody opened Ballagh’s account in the 16th minute. Ronan McNamara replied with a long range free and Carmody again and Barry Regan completed the first half scoring with two points to leave Davitts ahead by 1-6 to 0-3 at the interval.

Davitts got off to a flyer in the second half with early points by McNamara and McTigue in the first three minutes but then Ballagh took control. They dominated for most of the second half as the visitors fell asleep. Regan pointed in the fifteenth minute of the half and Darragh Dunne goaled, after a long Owen Jordan delivery to narrow the gap to four points after 12 minutes. Regan and Dunne pointed to narrow the gap to two with ten minutes remaining, with the momentum having swung firmly in the homeside’s favour. A fine Thomas Waldron point after a sweeping move put Davitts three up again in the 22nd minute. Regan and McNamara swapped points before the finish as Davitts ran out deserving winners.

Best for Davitts were Colm Roche, Cathal Higgins, Donal Ronayne, Keith Prendergast, Ronan McNamara, Thomas Waldron, Fearghal McGrath and Aidan McTigue.

Hardest triers for Ballaghaderreen were Keith Rodgers, Stephen Drake, Owen Jordan, Rory Conway, Cormac Doohan, Thomas Carmody, Darragh Dunne and Barry Regan.

Davitts: Adrian McNamara, Donal Ronayne, Cathal Higgins, Colm Roche, Martin Cosgrove, Padraig Mangan, Keith Prendergast (0-1), Ronan McNamara (0-3), Michael Waldron, Seamus Roche, Thomas Waldron (0-2), Liam Kearns, Darren Connolly, Fearghal McGrath (1-0), Aidan McTigue (0-4). Subs: Michael Mangan, Johnno Clarke, Kevin Gallagher.

Ballaghaderreen: Paul keegan, Shane Mulligan, Keith Rodgers, James Roddy, Peter Kelly, Stephen Drake, Aaron Lynch, Owen Jordan, Ryan Lynch, Rory Conway, Cormac Doohan, Thomas Carmody (0-2), Darragh Dunne (1-1), Barry Regan (0-4), Joe Dillon. Subs: Sean McHugh.

Please follow and like us:
Scroll to top