Ballindine, Co. Mayo

May 25, 2014

Seniors v Ballaghaderreen – Match Report

Ballaghaderreen 1-12 Davitts 0-10

Ballaghaderreen defeated Davitts by five points in this Mayo Senior Championship tie played in Ballaghaderreen on Saturday evening. The exchanges were close throughout but a Ballagh goal scored by Cormac Doohan in the 27th minute was the game’s crucial score. Ballagh had three other clearcut goal chances in the first half but excellent goalkeeping by Adrian McNamara kept them out.

Andy Moran got the opening two points in the 5th and 6th minutes as he threatened to run riot in the full forward line. The impressive Ronan McNamara pointed a monster free to open Davitts account and Barry Regan left it 0-3 to 0-1 after ten minutes. Davitts moved centre back Colm Boyle back to mark Andy Moran and the two county men had a great battle with Boyle coming out on top for the remainder of the game.

McNamara and Rory Conway swapped scores before Davitts Michael Conroy got his first score in the 21st minute and the same player equalised three minutes later with a superb point after a run from deep. Barry Regan restored the homeside’s lead a minute later and then Doohan’s goal put daylight between the sides. McNamara and Fearghal McGrath for Davitts and Regan for Ballagh pointed before halftime to leave Ballaghaderreen ahead by 1-6 to 0-6 at the break.

Darragh Dunne for the homeside and Josh Ronayne for Davitts shot early second half points and the big Davitts crowd got a massive lift in the 6th minute when Andrew Peters goaled after Ballagh goalie Ollie Flanagan parried a Josh Ronayne effort. Referee Denis Harrington disallowed the goal for a square ball infringement, which infuriated the visitors, and Barry Regan shot two points in rapid succession to put his side five points ahead.

Davitts tried hard but could not breach the Ballagh defence for the goal they needed and points from Thomas Waldron, Keith Prendergast and Ronan McNamara for Davitts were cancelled out by scores from James Kilcullen, Darragh Dunne and Barry Regan.

Ballaghaderreen’s strength and experience saw them through with Keith Rogers, Peter Kelly, Stephen Drake, David Drake, James Kilcullen, Andy Moran, Darragh Dunne and Barry Regan impressing.

Best for a gallant Davitts side were Adrian and Ronan McNamara, Mark Ronayne, Colm Roche, Colm Boyle, Josh Ronayne and Michael Conroy.

Ballaghaderreen: Ollie Flanagan, Aaron Lynch, Keith Rogers, Seamus Cunniffe, Peter Kelly, Stephen Drake, David Drake, James Kilcullen (0-1), Ryan Lynch, Owen Jordan, Andy Moran (0-2), Rory Conway (0-1), Darragh Dunne (0-2), Barry Regan (0-6), Cormac Doohan (1-0). Subs used: Cian Hanley, Gary Conway.

Davitts: Adrian McNamara, Mark Ronayne, Padraig Mangan, Kevin Gallagher, Colm Roche, Colm Boyle, Keith Prendergast (0-1), Ronan McNamara (0-4), Paul Carey, Seamus Roche, Josh Ronayne (0-1), Thomas Waldron (0-1), Fearghal McGrath (0-1), Liam Kearns, Michael Conroy (0-2). Subs used: Andrew Peters, Cathal Higgins, Donal Ronayne, Matthew Trench, Cathal Hennelly, Padraig Mangan.

Referee: Denis Harrington.

Scroll to top