Ballindine, Co. Mayo

May 8, 2016

Seniors v Ballaghaderreen – Match Report

Davitts 1-16 Ballaghaderreen 2-15

Davitts and Ballaghaderreen put their 100% Senior League Division 1B records on the line in sunny Ballindine on Sunday with the visitors emerging victorious after a superb game of attacking football.

Davitts, with the assistance of the wind, got off to a flying start with points from Colm Boyle, the excellent Michael Conroy (2) and Josh Ronayne in the first seven minutes. The visitors settled down and good points from Barry Regan (2) and impressive midfielder Owen Jordan left the minimum between the sides by the 13th minute. Conroy and Regan swapped points before Liam Kearns put Davitts two up. Davitts points from Josh Ronayne, Liam Kearns (2) and Aidan McTigue with Regan and Thomas Carmody replying for the visitors left the locals ahead by 0-10 to 0-6 at halftime.

Ballaghaderreen dominated the third quarter of the match with points from Barry Regan (5), Keith O Donnell and Thomas Carmody and an eighth minute goal from Carmody with Davitts sole reply coming in the form of a Michael Conroy point. Davitts lost the inspirational Colm Boyle through injury but points from Conroy, Kearns and Ronayne narrowed the gap to two points again before disaster struck for the homeside. A Davitts lineball was intercepted ending in Gavin Conway gleefully hammering home his side’s second goal to go five points clear with twelve minutes remaining. Davitts responded well with Aidan McTigue firing to the net after Keith Prendergast’s piledriver was superbly saved by Ballagh keeper Owen Flanagan. An Evan Ronayne point in the 24th minute narrowed the gap to one point. Barry Regan increased the lead to two and Cathal Hennelly for Davitts and Ballagh’s Peter Kelly swapped points before the end.

Ballaghaderreen had fine performers in Owen Flanagan, David Drake, Keith Rodgers, Owen Jordan, Barry Regan and Thomas Carmody.

Best for Davitts were Colm Roche, James Cummins, Keith Prendergast, Colm Boyle, Michael Conroy, Aidan McTigue and Cathal Hennelly.

Ballaghaderreen: Owen Flanagan, Aaron Lynch, Stephen Drake, Thomas Regan, David Drake, Keith Rodgers, Ryan Lynch, Darragh Kelly, Owen Jordan (0-1), Peter Kelly (0-1), Gavin Conway (1-0), Keith O Donnell (0-1), Aaron Foley, Barry Regan (0-10), Thomas Carmody (1-2). Subs used: Sharoize Akram, Seamus Cuniffe, Rory Conway.

Davitts: Adrian McNamara, Colm Roche, Padraig Mangan, Cathal Higgins, James Cummins, Keith Prendergast, Johnno Clarke, Declan Healy, Colm Boyle (0-1), Thomas Waldron, Liam Kearns (0-4), Micheal Mangan, Josh Ronayne (0-3), Michael Conroy (0-5), Aidan McTigue (1-1). Subs used: Kevin Gallagher, Evan Ronayne (0-1), Cathal Hennelly (0-1), Michael Waldron, Paul Carey.

Scroll to top