Ballindine, Co. Mayo

June 19, 2017

Seniors v Ballaghaderreen – Match Report

Davitts 2-13 Ballaghaderreen 3-11

Davitts and Ballaghaderreen clashed in the second round of the Senior Championship in Ballindine on Saturday evening with the East Mayo side edging the contest by a point.

Liam Kearns opened the scoring for the homeside with a 2nd minute point but Barry Regan flicked in a goal from a long Andy Moran delivery to give Ballagh the lead a minute later, a lead they were not to surrender for the remainder of the game.

Andy Moran, superb throughout, pointed in the 6th minute and points from Ronan McNamara and Liam Kearns for Davitts and Barry Regan for the visitors left two points in it before Moran scored a crucial second goal for his side in the 13th minute, beating a number of Davitts players before shooting to the bottom corner.

Michael Conroy and Liam Kearns for Davitts pointed as did Gavin Conway and Barry Regan for Ballagh to leave Ballagh ahead by 2-4 to 0-5 at the break.

Barry Regan was on the mark twice for Ballagh in the opening ten minutes of the second half with Cathal Hennelly and Liam Kearns pointing for Davitts.

Three Cathal Hennelly points for Davitts kept them in touch and Liam Kearns got on the end of a super move for the home side but blazed narrowly wide with nine minutes remaining. Ballagh capitalised on their let off with Gavin Conway pointing and Andy Moran grabbing his second goal of the match, in the next two minutes.

Michael Conroy pointed to narrow the gap to five points and the same player was unlucky to see his deft flick hit the post with the keeper beaten as time ran out for the homeside.

Barry Solan, Shairoze Akram and Darragh Kelly for Ballagh and Cathal Hennelly for Davitts pointed before Ronan McNamara, now causing havoc at full forward, goaled to leave four points in it as the game entered injury time.

Liam Kearns narrowed the gap to three but a breakaway point from Shairoze Akram, as Davitts players were throwing everything into attack, was a vital score for Ballagh because Davitts went straight down the field and Ronan McNamara goaled again.

Time ran out for Davitts as Charlie Collins blew the final whistle on the kickout.

In an entertaining and very exciting match, Ballaghaderreen had terrific performers in man of the match Andy Moran, Seamus Cunniffe, David Drake, Shairoze Akram, Joe Dillon, Gavin Conway and Barry Regan.

Best for Davitts, whose unforced errors proved fatal, were Thomas Waldron, Colm Roche, Colm Boyle, Ronan McNamara, Cathal Hennelly and Michael Conroy.

Ballaghaderreen: Paul Keegan, Keith O Donnell, Seamus Cunniffe, Thomas Regan, Peter Kelly, Matthew Towey, David Drake, Darragh Kelly (0-1), Andy Moran (2-1), Luke O Grady, Joe Dillon, Shairoze Akram (0-2), Barry Solan (0-1), Barry Regan (1-4), Gavin Conway (0-2). Subs used: Ronan McGrath, Stephen Drake.

Davitts: Adrian McNamara, Colm Roche, Declan Healy, Cathal Higgins, Thomas Waldron, Colm Boyle, Johnno Clarke, Ronan McNamara (2-1), Cathal Hennelly (0-5), Josh Ronayne, Liam Kearns (0-5), Jack Ronayne, Aidan McTigue, Paul Carey, Michael Conroy (0-2). Sub used: Shane Treacy.

Referee: Charlie Collins.

Scroll to top