Ballindine, Co. Mayo

October 16, 2017

Seniors v Aghamore–Senior Championship Relegation Play-Off – Match Report

Aghamore 1-14 Davitts 0-10

Aghamore ensured their Senior Championship status for next season with a seven point victory over Davitts in this relegation play-off replay played in Ballyhaunis on Sunday. Davitts will rue the spurning of a number of first half scoring chances when they were dominating the midfield exchanges through the efforts of Ronan McNamara and Declan Healy.

Davitts had two early goal chances but Darragh Hunt, the Aghamore keeper, pulled off two superb saves in the opening two minutes, to deny Josh Ronayne and then Paul Carey. Davitts got off the mark with points from Andy Peters, Paul Carey and Evan Ronane but all their good work was cancelled out by Aghamore’s marauding midfielder Sean Og Tighe who goaled after a rare foray into the Davitts half in the 10th minute. Alan Freeman pointed a minute later to put his side ahead but Davitts response was impressive. Points from Evan Ronane, Ronan McNamara and a beauty from Josh Ronayne put Davitts two points ahead with ten minutes remaining in the first half. Ross Egan narrowed the gap to one but two neat Evan Ronane points had Davitts three up as the first half entered injury time. Alan Freeman and Ross Egan fired over two injury time points for Aghamore as they went in a point down (and very happy) at the break, 0-8 to 1-4.

Four unanswered points courtesy of the influential Alan Freeman (3) and Fergal Boland had Aghamore three up after twelve minutes. Michael Conroy pulled one back for Davitts but Fergal Boland cancelled that one out in the 18th minute. Two minutes later Davitts cause was not helped by the dismissal of corner back Padraig Mangan. Five well taken points from Aghamore’s Alan Freeman with Davitts only reply coming from Andy Peters, left the East Mayo men seven point victors and Davitts facing Ballinrobe in the relegation decider.

Best for Aghamore were Darragh Hunt, James McNieve, Iarla Carty, Sean Og Tighe, Brendan Harrison, Fergal Boland, Ross Egan and the main man Alan Freeman.

Davitts were best served by Patrick Keadin, Colm Boyle, Declan Healy, Josh Ronayne, Andy Peters, Ronan McNamara and Evan Ronane.

Aghamore: Darragh Hunt, Aidan Henry, Niall Freeman, David Kenny, James McNieve, Caoimhin Carty, Iarla Carty, Sean Og Tighe (1-0), Brendan Harrison, Robert Lyons, Alan Freeman (0-10), Kenny Feeney, Ross Egan (0-2), Fergal Boland (0-2), James Lyons. Sub used: Conor Hunt.

Davitts: Adrian McNamara, Patrick Keadin, Cathal Higgins, Padraig Mangan, Tommy Waldron, Colm Boyle, Johnno Clarke, Ronan McNamara (0-1), Declan Healy, Keith Prendergast, Paul Carey (0-1), Andy Peters (0-2), Michael Conroy (0-1), Josh Ronayne (0-1), Evan Ronane (0-4). Subs used: Liam Kearns, Shane Treacy, Cathal Hennelly, Micheal Mangan.

Referee: Jerome Henry.

Please follow and like us:
Scroll to top