Ballindine, Co. Mayo

April 1, 2013

Seniors get league off to winning start against Knockmore – Match Report

Knockmore: 1-9

Davitts: 2-7

Davitts opened up their Senior League Division 1A campaign with an excellent victory away to Knockmore in a game played in artic conditions. Knockmore, playing with the wind, made all the running for most of the first half and led by 0-7 to 0-1 after eighteen minutes with county star Kevin McLoughlin, Shane McHale, James Ruddy, Gerrry Higgins and Declan Sweeney impressing for them. Davitts however, came thundering into the game and goal and a point from Josh Ronayne, the goal coming after some great work by Liam Kearns, Fearghal McGrath and James Cummins. This left the halftime score at 0-7 to 1-2 in favour of Knockmore but Davitts would have gone in the happier team at the break.

Knockmore came out all fired up in the second half and points from the impressive Gerry Higgins (2) and a goal from Damian McHale, capitalising on a defensive error, stretched the homeside’s lead to 1-9 to 1-2 eight minutes into the second half. It looked bleak for Davitts at this stage but driven on by Colm Boyle, Paul Carey, Josh Ronayne and man of the match Michael Conroy, they began to claw the lead back. Points from Josh Ronayne and Fearghal McGrath narrowed the gap before sub David McDonagh scrambled a goal to leave two points between the sides with ten minutes remaining. The momentum was all with Davitts now and Conroy and Ronayne pointed to level it before Conroy pointed from a tight angle to win it for Davitts in the last minute.

Davitts: David Mitchell, Colm Roche, Michael Ronayne, Kevin Gallagher, Jonathon Clarke, James Cummins, Colm Boyle (0-1), Ronan McNamara, Paul Carey, Keith Prendergast, Josh Ronayne (1-3), Liam Kearns, Seamus Roche, Fearghal McGrath (0-1), Michael Conroy (0-2). Subs used: David McDonagh (1-0), Andrew Peters.

Knockmore: Andrew Higgins, Jason Clarke, Shane McHale, John Brogan, Kieran Langan, Brian Gibbons, Alan Stadler, Kevin McLoughlin (0-2), James Ruddy (1-1), Keith Ruttledge, Gerry Higgins (0-3), Andrew Keane, Damian McHale (1-0), Declan Sweeney (0-2), Colm Donnellan (0-1).

Scroll to top