Ballindine, Co. Mayo

November 21, 2016

Seniors Draw With Belmullet to Capture League 1B Title

Belmullet 0-7 Davitts 0-7

Davitts captured the Mayo Senior League Division 1B title in Belmullet on Saturday where the league points were divided between the hosts and the South Mayo men after a competitive match between two understrength sides.

Shane Mitchell opened the scoring for Davitts in the eighth minute but Jason Boylan and the very lively Darren Docherty pointed to put the hosts ahead after the first quarter, with both defences on top, as they were throughout the game. Ronan Murray with two points for Belmullet and two from Davitts midfielder Keith Prendergast left Belmullet ahead by 0-4 to 0-3 at the break.

Davitts full back Cathal Higgins tied the game three minutes after the interval but Jason Boylan pointed to give the homeside the lead five minutes later. Seamus Roche equalised with a neat point but scores from sub Andrew Howard, and the influential midfielder Shane Nallen had the hosts ahead by two points as the game entered the last ten minutes.

Two fine points from Paul Carey and Seamus Roche tied the game and both teams would have been happy with the result, Davitts claiming the title and Belmullet ensuring their safety in the division regardless of happenings elsewhere.

Both sides were short of a number of regulars but Davitts had fine performers in Micheal Mangan, Colm Roche, Cathal Higgins, Keith Prendergast, Seamus Roche and Paul Carey.

Best for the homeside were Anthony Mills, Damien Padden, Shane Nallen, Ronan Murray, Darren Doherty and Jason Boylan.

Belmullet: Sean Heston, Damien Reilly, Anthony Mills, John Coyle, Cillian Dixon, Damien Padden, Conor Togher, Paddy Barrett, Shane Nallen (0-1), Ronan Murray (0-2), Darren Doherty (0-1), Jason Boylan (0-2), PJ McGinty, Henry Gaughan, Ian Togher. Subs used: Andrew Howard (0-1), Brendan McGrath, Derek McDonnell.

Davitts: Micheal Mangan, Colm Roche, Cathal Higgins, (0-1), Lawrence Daly, James Cummins, Johnno Clarke, Kevin Gallagher, Keith Prendergast (0-2), Declan Healy, Thomas Waldron, Liam Kearns, Andrew Peters, Seamus Roche (0-2), Shane Mitchell (0-1), Paul Carey (0-1). Subs used: Patrick Keadin, Padraig Mangan.

Scroll to top