Ballindine, Co. Mayo

July 23, 2022

Senior v Islandeady match report

Davitts 0-12  Islandeady 1-7

Davitts hosted Islandeady in Div 2B of the Senior League on Saturday evening and two late points from Niall Treacy and Johnno Clarke secured the win for the home side after a tough battle. The greasy conditions and made it difficult to play good football and while the quality of play wasn’t top class, you couldn’t question the commitment displayed by both teams.

Islandeady opened the scoring with a second minute point. Niall Treacy, who had a terrific game throughout, equalised in the 7th minute and Fenton Kelly put Davitts ahead with a superb point in the tenth minute after great work by Evan Ronane.  An Islandeady point in the 13th minute was matched by Evan Ronane a minute later with Niall Treacy extending Davitts lead to two points in the 15th minute. In the 20th minute, a long delivery into the Davitts goalmouth was not dealt with by the defenders and the ball ended up in the net for the only goal of the game and put Islandeady into the lead. Jack Ronayne shot an excellent equaliser in the 26th minute and Cathal Corless completed the first half scoring with another fine point two minutes later to leave Davitts ahead, 0-6 to 1-2 at the break.

Cathal Corless pointed in the 31st minute but Islandeady points in the 32nd and 35th minutes levelled the game. Shane Treacy put Davitts in front again with a 43rd point and Niall Treacy extended the lead to two points with a quality score two minutes later. Two points by the visitors in the 47th and 50th minutes saw the sides level again. A 52nd minute Shane Treacy point was cancelled out two minutes later. With the sides level and time running out, Niall Treacy pointed in the 60th minute and substitute Johnno Clarke fired over in the fourth minute of injury time to see his side claim the two league points.

Micheal Hett, Cathal Higgins, Charlie Phillips, Colm Boyle, Cathal Corless, Shane Treacy, Evan Ronane and Niall Treacy were very impressive for Davitts in this game.

Davitts: Keith Prendergast, Micheal Hett, Cathal Higgins, Charlie Phillips, Aidan Macken, Colm Boyle, Dmitry Trench, Ronan McNamara, Fenton Kelly (0-1), Cathal Corless (0-2), Jack Ronayne (0-1), Shane Treacy (0-2), Evan Ronane (0-1), Darragh McGale, Niall Treacy (0-4). Sub used: Johnno Clarke (0-1).

Please follow and like us:
Scroll to top