Ballindine, Co. Mayo

May 28, 2023

Senior League v Mayo Gaels match report

Mayo Gaels 1-11  Davitts 0-13

Mayo Gaels got the better of Davitts by a point after an exciting Senior League Div 1B match played in Mayo Abbey on Saturday evening. Mayo Gaels took their chances but Davitts will be disappointed not to have won the game, a number of unforced errors leading to their downfall.

Playing with the assistance of the wind, Dylan Gallagher opened the scoring for Davitts in the second minute but two points from the Gaels in the 4th and 5th minutes saw them take the lead. Davitts got well on top for the remainder of the half with their two young midfielders Dylan Gallagher, who had a great game, and Jack Melvin doing well and points from Niall Treacy and Colm Boyle saw them regain the lead. Niall Treacy fired over another in the fifteenth minute and after the Gaels shot an 18th minute point, similar scores from Dylan Gallagher (3) and Niall Treacy put Davitts five ahead before the home side finished the half with an injury time point to leave Davitts ahead by 0-8 to 0-4 at the break.

Niall Treacy restored Davitts five point advantage when he opened the second half scoring in the first minute but Mayo Gaels took full advantage of a defensive error and hammered home the game’s only goal in the 32nd minute and they narrowed the deficit to the minimum from the resulting kick out. Another Niall Treacy point in the 36th minute put Davitts two up but four points between the 43rd and 47th minutes from the home side saw them go two ahead as the game entered its closing stages.  Dylan Gallagher pointed for Davitts in the 53rd minute but two Gaels points in the next two minutes saw them extend their lead to three. Dylan Gallagher fired over two more points in the last five minutes but Davitts could not find an equaliser as the Mayo Gaels team defended well.

Best for Davitts were Jordan Flanagan, Thomas Ronayne, Cathal Higgins, Dylan Gallagher, Niall Treacy and Colm Boyle.

Davitts: Tristan Diskin, Charlie Phillips, Jordan Flanagan, Thomas Ronayne, Tom Corless, Cathal Higgins, Mark Ronayne, Dylan Gallagher (0-7), Jack Melvin, Brian Og McTigue, Niall Treacy (0-5), Evan Ronane, Colm Boyle (0-1), Liam Kearns, Danny Corless. Subs used: Darragh McGale, Sean Keadin.

Please follow and like us:
Scroll to top