Ballindine, Co. Mayo

April 30, 2023

Senior League v Ballintubber match report

Ballintubber 1-9  Davitts 0-11

Ballintubber were put to the sword by a young Davitts team in the opening round of the Senior League Div 1B but they used their experience to grind out a hard earned victory in Clogher on Saturday evening.

After Ciaran Gavin gave the homeside an early lead with a first minute point Davitts came storming into the game and unanswered points from Dylan Gallagher (3), Niall Treacy (2), Evan Ronane and Fenton Kelly had them 0-7 to 0-1 ahead with five minutes remaining in the first half. Ballintubber were clearly rattled and some wayward shooting was not helping their cause, but they got themselves back into the contest with a strong last five minutes of the opening half. Two well taken points by the very impressive Stephen O Malley and Alan Plunkett in the 27th and 28th minutes were followed by the only goal of the game, a 29th minute penalty, confidently converted by Stephen O Malley, after Jason Gibbons was fouled in the square, to cut Davitts lead to the minimum at the break, 0-7 to 1-3.

Ballintubber started the second half like they finished the first and points from Hugh Geraghty, Ciaran Gavin (2) and Stephen O Malley had them three points ahead by the 37th minute. Davitts, displaying great spirit, fought back impressively though and and points from Dylan Gallagher and Niall Treacy in the 41st and 44th minutes left a point between the sides as the game entered the final quarter. A 48th minute Stephen O Malley point for Tubber was cancelled out by a similar effort from Niall Treacy three minutes later and the same player shot an equalising point in the 55th minute. Ciaran Gavin fired over the winning point for the homeside in the 57th minute and his side were able to see out the game and claim the two hard earned league points.

Joe Geraghty, Finian Burke, Hugh Geraghty, Jason Gibbons, Ciaran Gavin, Stephen O Malley and Alan Plunkett were impressive for Ballintubber.

Davitts had fine performances from Charlie Phillips, Cathal Higgins, Micheal Hett, Darragh McGale, Dylan Gallagher, Niall Treacy and Colm Boyle.

Ballintubber: Brendan Walsh, Jack Walsh, Joe Geraghty, Finian Burke, Milo Kelly, Gary Loftus, Hugh Geraghty (0-1), Jason Gibbons, David McHale, John Kerrigan, Stephen Burke, Gavin Roche, Ciaran Gavin (0-4), Stephen O Malley (1-3), Alan Plunkett (0-1).

Davitts: Tristan Diskin, Charlie Phillips, Thomas Ronayne, Jordan Flanagan, Fionnan Gallagher, Cathal Higgins, Micheal Hett, Fenton Kelly (0-1), Darragh McGale, Dylan Gallagher (0-4), Liam Kearns, Evan Ronane (0-1), Jack Devane, Niall Treacy (0-5), Colm Boyle.

Subs used: Brian Og McTigue, Danny Corless, Ryan McLoughlin, Stephen Nyland.

Referee: John Glavey (Aghamore)

Scroll to top