Ballindine, Co. Mayo

June 19, 2023

Senior League Div 1B v Breaffy match report

Davitts 1-13  Breaffy 0-8

Davitts Senior team had a convincing win over Breaffy in Div 1B of the league on Friday evening in Ballindine. Davitts were the better side from the off and had shot five unanswered points through the excellent Niall Treacy (4) and Evan Ronane before Breaffy got their only score of the first half, a 19th minute point. Davitts added two more points from Dylan Gallagher to lead by 0-7 to 0-1 at halftime.

An early second half point in the first minute by the visitors was cancelled out by man of the match Niall Treacy two minutes later. Breaffy upped the ante considerably at the start of the second period but found a tenacious Davitts defence very difficult to crack. A 38th minute Breaffy point was matched by Niall Treacy thirty seconds later but the game’s crucial score came in the 41st minute. Davitts were fighting tooth and nail for every ball and when sub Darragh McGale dispossessed a Breaffy defender, the ball found its way to Niall Treacy via Brian Og McTigue, the influential Colm Boyle and Evan Ronane. Treacy was hauled down inside the small square and young midfielder Jack Melvin coolly slotted home the resulting penalty, sending the Breaffy keeper the wrong way, to give his side a nine point cushion.

Breaffy narrowed the gap with a point in the next minute with Niall Treacy firing one over for Davitts in the 47th minute. Two Breaffy points in the next ten minutes were cancelled out by two from the homeside via Dylan Gallagher and Mark Ronayne. Dylan Gallagher pointed in the 59th minute as the game petered out and two Breaffy points in injury time completed the scoring.

This was a very good all round team display by the hard working young Davitts team who controlled the game well to move off the foot of the table.

Davitts: Tristan Diskin, Micheal Hett, Jordan Flanagan, Thomas Ronayne, Tom Corless, Cathal Higgins, Brian Og McTigue, Charlie Phillips, Jack Melvin (1-0), Dylan Gallagher (0-4), Liam Kearns, Danny Corless, Colm Boyle, Niall Treacy (0-7), Evan Ronane (0-1). Subs used: Shane Treacy, Darragh McGale, Mark Ronayne (0-1), Jack Devane, Aidan Macken.

Please follow and like us:
Scroll to top