Ballindine, Co. Mayo

April 29, 2024

Senior League 3B v Balla match report

Balla 0-15  Davitts 1-12

Davitts travelled to Balla for the first round of the Senior League Div 3B on Sunday and a draw ensued after a very entertaining match.

Davitts, with midfielders Ronan McNamara and John Kilkenny in dominant form, set the early running. Points from Davey Hennessy, Ronan McNamara (2), Michael Hett, Ryan McLoughlin and Fearghal McGrath saw the visitors ahead by 0-6 to 0-1 after ten minutes. Balla pointed in the 12th and 17th minutes but a brilliant point by Sean Feerick and a 21st minute Fearghal McGrath goal, after great work by John Kilkenny, Ryan McLoughlin and Davey Hennessy, put the visitors seven points clear. Balla responded well shooting four points in the next six minutes before Fearghal McGrath pointed on the stroke of half-time to leave Davitts ahead by 1-8 to 0-7 at the break. Balla were unlucky not to score at least one goal in that half but Davitts keeper Tristan Diskin produced two superb saves and full-back Brian Birmingham another one when goals for the home team looked inevitable.

Two early Balla points in the first two minutes of the second half narrowed the deficit but Davitts replied with similar scores from Davey Hennessy and Darragh McGale in the 33rd and 35th minutes. Balla hit over three more between the 36th and 42nd minutes. Davitts were flagging at this stage but a superb long range free from Ronan Mac in the 46th minute and a fine Brian Birmingham point two minutes later restored Davitts’ three point lead. Balla finished the game strongly and three points in the last seven minutes of the game earned them a share of the spoils.

Davitts had good displays all over the field with Tristan Diskin, Brian Birmingham, Michael Hett, Fionn McLoughlin, Ronan Mac, Davey Hennessy, Fearghal McGrath and Colm Roche in great form.

Davitts: Tristan Diskin, Patrick Keadin, Brian Birmingham (0-1), Sean Feerick (0-1), Johnno Clarke, Michael Hett (0-1), Jack Trench, Ronan McNamara (0-3), John Kilkenny, Joe Prendergast, Fionn McLoughlin, Ryan McLoughlin, Davey Hennessy (0-2), Fearghal McGrath (1-2), Colm Roche. Subs used: Darragh McGale (0-1), John Costello, Lawrence Daly, Jack Devane, Stephen Nyland.

Scroll to top