Ballindine, Co. Mayo

June 1, 2024

Senior League 1A v Breaffy match report

Davitts 0-15  Breaffy 1-7

Davitts unbeaten start to their Senior League Div 1A campaign continued in Ballindine on Friday evening when they registered a five point victory over Breaffy. A strong second half showing when assisted by the breeze gave Davitts the victory after a lively game.

Liam Kearns and Shane Treacy got the home side off to a flying start with a point each in the first two minutes. Breaffy points in the 4th and 10th minutes levelled the game before Mark Birmingham put the home side ahead again in the 11th minute. A 16th minute Breaffy point was cancelled out by a similar score from the excellent Dylan Gallagher three minutes later. The visitors enjoyed their best spell as they dominated the remainder of the first half. They added points in the 21st, 25th and 27th minutes to lead by 0-6 to 0-4 at the break. Davitts could easily have been further adrift but for two superb saves by goalie Tristan Diskin late in the half.

Breaffy made the early running in the second half and extended their lead to three with a 34th minute point. Davitts responded to this score in impressive fashion as they assumed control throughout the field. They shot eight unanswered points in the next twenty minutes through Dylan Gallagher (3), Niall Treacy (3), Jack Melvin and Liam Kearns to go five clear. A Breaffy goal in the 57th minute narrowed the gap to two points but Davitts were in no mood to let this one slip and points from Jack Melvin and Niall Treacy (2) completed the scoring before referee Eamon McAndrew blew the final whistle.

Tristan Diskin, Kieran Fahy, Thomas Ronayne, Mark Birmingham, Jack Melvin, Dylan Gallagher and the Treacy brothers Shane and Niall were impressive while the experienced Cathal Higgins, Tommy Waldron, Colm Boyle, Liam Kearns and Darragh McGale showed great leadership, driving their team on in the second half and making telling contributions.

Davitts: Tristan Diskin, Kieran Fahy, Cathal Higgins, Sean Keadin, Shane Treacy (0-1), Thomas Ronayne, Mark Birmingham (0-1), Charlie Phillips, Jack Melvin (0-2), Dylan Gallagher (0-4), Liam Kearns (0-2), Stephen Nyland, Niall Treacy (0-5), Darragh McGale, Colm Boyle. Subs used: Brian Óg McTigue, Tommy Waldron, Jordan Flanagan, Fionn McLoughlin.

Please follow and like us:
Scroll to top