Ballindine, Co. Mayo

June 23, 2024

Senior League 1A v Ballina match report

Davitts 2-5  Ballina Stephenites 1-14

County champions Ballina proved too strong for Davitts in this Senior League Div 1A clash in sunny Ballindine on Sunday.

Luke Feeney put the visitors in front with a first minute point and Conor McStay doubled the lead in the 9th minute. Ronan McNamara opened the Davitts account in the 11th minute with a fine point. Ballina extended their lead with points in the 13th and 19th minutes via Sean Fitzpatrick and Conor McStay. Scores were hard to come by in the tight exchanges but Davitts points from Brian Clarke and Ronan McNamara in the 21st and 25th minutes cut the Ballina lead to two points. Aodan McCann and Conor McStay pointed for Ballina in the 27th and 29th minutes and on the stroke of half-time the latter benefitted from a defensive error to fire home his side’s only goal of the game. This left the visitors ahead by 1-6 to 0-3 at the break.

Ronan McNamara pointed for Davitts in the third minute of the second half with Conor McStay following suit for Ballina three minutes later. Tommy Waldron for the homeside and Ciaran Boland for the visitors exchanged points in the 37th minute. Ballina stretched their lead with points from Conor McStay (2), Dylan Neary and Luke Feeney between the 39th and 54th minutes before Thomas Ronayne got on the end of a fine Davitts move to finish to the net in the 56th minute. Ballina responded with points from Adam McAndrew and Ciaran Boland before Fionn McLoughlin got the game’s final score, another well-worked Davitts goal in the last minute.

Best for Ballina were Oisin Farrell, David Tighe, Ciaran Boland, Luke Jordan, Dylan Neary, Conor McStay, Luke Feeney and Mark Birrane.

Davitts had battling performances from Cathal Higgins, Brian Birmingham, Thomas Ronayne, Colm Boyle, Charlie Phillips, Fionn McLoughlin, Darragh McGale, Ronan McNamara and Tommy Waldron.

Ballina: Eoghan Coleman, Sean Doherty, Oisin Farrell, Thomas Doherty, Brendan Collins, David Tighe, Ciaran Boland (0-2), Luke Jordan, Dylan Neary (0-1), Aodan McCann (0-1), Conor McStay (1-6, 0-5f), Ben Thornton, Sean Fitzpatrick (0-1), Luke Feeney (0-2), Mark Birrane. Subs used: Dylan Thornton, Marcus Lacuesta, Daniel Winters, Adam McAndrew (0-1f).

Davitts: Dylan O’Brien, Jordan Flanagan, Cathal Higgins, Brian Birmingham, Thomas Ronayne (1-0), Colm Boyle, Sean Keadin, Charlie Phillips, Jack Melvin, Fionn McLoughlin (1-0), Brian Clarke (0-1), Brian Óg McTigue, Darragh McGale, Ronan McNamara (0-3), Jack Devane. Subs used: Tommy Waldron (0-1), Stephen Nyland, Donie Ronayne, Micheal Hett.

Referee: Michael Daly

Please follow and like us:
Scroll to top