Ballindine, Co. Mayo

August 9, 2020

Senior Championship v Aghamore match report

Aghamore 0-18

Davitts 0-12

Aghamore proved too strong for Davitts in this Mayo Senior Championship match played in sunny Aghamore on Saturday evening. A blistering opening quarter, which yielded an unanswered five points, paved the way for the locals who had already drawn with the holders Ballintubber in the opening round. Davitts looked very poor in that period with several unforced errors being clinically punished by an Aghamore attack with Fergal Boland, Darren Duffy, Conor Byrne and Ross Egan all impressing.

Davitts pulled back two points through Jack Ronayne and Evan Ronane in the 18th and 19th minutes but Aghamore added another four points before Jack Ronayne and Ronan McNamara pointed to leave the hosts ahead by 0-9 to 0-4 at halftime.

Davitts looked a more purposeful team after the break with their youthful midfield partnership of Stephen Nyland and Aidan Macken coming more and more into the game and Jack Ronayne and Evan Ronane in particular, looking sharp in attack. Cathal Hennelly and Evan Ronane shot two points in the first three minutes of the second half to narrow the gap to three points. A 36th minute point for Aghamore was matched by a fine Stephen Nyland point two minutes later.

Aghamore pointed again in the 40th minute but two Davitts points from Ronan McNamara and Aidan Macken in the 42nd and 44th minutes narrowed the deficit to two points before Aghamore added another before the second water break to leave them 0-12 to 0-9 ahead. The locals added three more points before Jack Ronayne pulled one back for Davitts. Evan Ronane fired over two more for the visitors who really needed a goal but were thwarted by a superb defensive display and a very effective Aghamore goalkeeper Adam Byrne. Aghamore added three more points in the last three minutes to clinch a decisive victory.

Davitts will now meet Ballintubber in the final group match in two weeks time at a neutral venue.

Davitts: Cian Naughton, Patrick Keadin, Cathal Higgins, Tom Corless, Tommy Waldron, Kieran Fahy, Dmitry Trench, Stephen Nyland (0-1), Aidan Macken (0-1), Cathal Hennelly (0-1), Jack Ronayne (0-3), Colm Boyle, Evan Ronane (0-4), Ronan McNamara (0-2), Mark Ronayne. Subs used: Niall Treacy, Shane Treacy, Darragh McGale, Brian Clarke, Liam Macken.


Please follow and like us:
Scroll to top