Ballindine, Co. Mayo

October 4, 2021

Senior Championship C’ship v Ballintubber match report

Davitts 2-8  Ballintubber 2-15

Davitts hosted Ballintubber in the second round of the Senior Championship with the visitors running out the seven points winners in a game played in wet and windy conditions. Ballintubber, playing against the wind in the first half, got off to a flying start with three points from Noel Geraghty, Stephen O Malley and Jason Gibbons in the first four minutes. Davitts opened their account in the fifth minute when wing back Thomas Ronayne was pulled down in the penalty area and Jack Ronayne made no mistake from the spot to level the game. Evan Ronane kicked a fine point in the eighth minute to put Davitts in front. Noel Geraghty for Tubber and Davitts livewire Niall Treacy exchanged points before the first water break.

Ciaran Gavin equalised in the 20th minute and a fine goal finished by Damian Coleman two minutes later put his side ahead by three. Bryan Walsh pointed in the 26th minute to extend Ballintubber’s lead and Evan Ronane pointed just before the break to leave Ballintubber ahead by 1-6 to 1-3 at halftime.

Davitts got off to a good start in the second half with a Darragh McGale point in the 31st minute. This score seemed to spur on the visitors and they shot an unanswered 1-6 in the next ten minutes.  Bryan Walsh finished the goal with Stephen O Malley (2), Alan Plunkett (2), Ciaran Gavin and Noel Geraghty shooting the points. Davitts scored three points in a row from Ronan McNamara, Josh Ronayne and Jack Ronayne before Alan Plunkett pointed for Ballintubber to leave them ahead by 2-13 to 1-7 at the second water break.

Diarmuid O Connor and Stephen O Malley scored Ballintubber points in the 54th and 55th minutes with Josh Ronayne pointing for the home side in the 56th minute. The final score of the game was supplied by Niall Treacy who went on a jinking run before blasting the ball to the net in the 59th minute.

Ballintubber showed why they are one of the favourites to win the Championship this year and the had fine performers in Damian Coleman, Michael and Alan Plunkett, Hugh Geraghty, Jason Gibbons, Bryan Walsh and Stephen O Malley.

Davitts, who battled well up to the final whistle, had solid displays from Cathal Higgins, Thomas Ronayne, Dmitry Trench, Colm Boyle, Jack Ronayne and Niall Treacy.

Ballintubber: Frank Walsh, Gary Loftus, Brian Murphy, Finian Burke, Damian Coleman (1-0), Michael Plunkett, Hugh Geraghty, Diarmuid O Connor (0-1), Jason Gibbons (0-1), Keelan McDonnell, Noel Geraghty (0-3), Bryan Walsh (1-1), Ciaran Gavin (0-2), Stephen O Malley (0-4), Alan Plunkett (0-3). Subs used: Myles Kelly, Joe Geraghty.

Davitts: Keith Prendergast, Kieran Fahy, Cathal Higgins, Thomas Corless, Thomas Ronayne, Tommy Waldron, Dmitry Trench, Ronan McNamara (0-1), Colm Boyle, Josh Ronayne (0-2), Jack Ronayne (1-1), Fenton Kelly, Niall Treacy (1-1), Darragh McGale (0-1), Evan Ronane (0-2). Subs used: Patrick Keadin, Cathal Hennelly, Shane Treacy, Micheal Hett, Johnno Clarke.

Please follow and like us:
Scroll to top