Ballindine, Co. Mayo

April 1, 2024

O Mara Cup v Ballinrobe match report

Ballinrobe 3-12  Davitts 0-13

The home side Ballinrobe ended Davitts interest in this year’s O Mara Cup competition when they inflicted an eight points beating to their visitors on Friday night. Davitts were the livelier side for most of the first half and would have been disappointed to go in at half-time with just a two point lead, 0-7 to 0-5.

The very impressive Niall Treacy shot the first three points of the game in the opening six minutes to give Davitts a good start. Jack Devane landed another in the 12th minute but Ballinrobe suddenly burst into life and fired over four points in the next four minutes to level the game. Two Michael Conroy points and another from corner back Fionnan Gallagher, another player to impress, had Davitts three ahead after 28 minutes but Ballinrobe had the last say in the half with a 29th minute point.

After Davitts’ Sean Feerick scored an excellent opening score of the second half in the 32nd minute, Ballinrobe hit another devastating four minute long scoring blitz which yielded two goals and three points. Michael Conroy pulled two points back in the 39th and 40th minutes. The home team pointed in the 41st, 48th and 51st minutes to go seven points up. Fionn McLoughlin, Mark Birmingham and Stephen Nyland had Davitts points before the end but Ballinrobe added a point and a late goal to absolutely seal the win.

Sean Keadin, Fionnan Gallagher, Niall Treacy and the evergreen Michael Conroy did best for Davitts in this game.

Davitts: Joe Prendergast, Fionnan Gallagher (0-1), Sean Keadin, Sean Feerick (0-1), Cathal Higgins, Brian Birmingham, Charlie Phillips, Mark Birmingham (0-1), Fionn McLoughlin (0-1), Niall Treacy (0-3), Jack Devane (0-1), Stephen Nyland (0-1), Darragh McGale, Michael Conroy (0-4). Subs used: Cian Naughton, Johnno Clarke, John Kilkenny, Fearghal McGrath.

Scroll to top