Ballindine, Co. Mayo

September 23, 2018

Minors v Claremorris – Match Report

Davitts Minor Team bowed out of the County B Championship after being defeated, 3-17 to 1-13, by a physically stronger Claremorris side in Claremorris on Friday evening.

The home side, much more economical in attack, got off to a flying start and led by 1-5 to 0-0 before Davitts opened their account with a Cian Naughton point in the 14th minute. Stephen Nyland pointed again two minutes later and Dean Moran, Niall Treacy and Cian Naughton shot three fine points before the interval to leave Claremorris ahead by 1-8 to 0-5 at the break.

Davitts needed to get the second half off to a good start but a goal in the first minute put Claremorris firmly into the driving seat. Davitts fought valiantly but some excellent goalkeeping by the Claremorris keeper foiled the visitors on a number of occasions.

Cian Naughton (2), Niall Treacy, Stephen Nyland (4) and Niall Kearns scored second half points and Stephen Nyland goaled in the 29th minute but it was Claremorris that advanced to the Semi-Final.

Davitts had good performers in Joe Prendergast, Dave Devane, Sean Feerick, Dimitry Trench, Niall Kearns, Cian Naughton, Stephen Nyland and Niall Treacy, Davitts best player.

Davitts: Joe Prendergast, Jordan Flanagan, Dave Devane, Oisin O Connor, Sean Feerick, Dimitry Trench, Fenton Kelly, Niall Kearns (0-1), Cian Naughton (0-4), Dean Moran (0-1), James Ruane, Conor Walsh, Zack Keadin, Stephen Nyland (1-5), Niall Treacy (0-2). Subs used: Jack Devane, Thomas Ronayne, Gary Bourke, Shane Waldron.

Please follow and like us:
Scroll to top